Astra Ebonwing’s Post

Astra Ebonwing reposted this

View profile for Kay Bell, graphic

Producer, Release Manager, & General Chaos Wrangler

I wish GDC was more inspiring for my career, but instead I have had to focus almost entirely on keeping women and trans people safe. Every year, inboxes are flooded with this horrific words: “I was assaulted at GDC” Whisper networks only work so well but are so secret that women and trans people who are assaulted have no idea who to even go to. They don’t know who to talk to. Predators are protected by their companies and friends and are allowed into spaces, regardless of how many people scream that they’re dangerous people. Women and trans people are lured into places to pitch their games and are sexually assaulted. Women and trans people are roofied at parties where predators and past offenders were also invited. Women and trans people have to create escape plans and keep their mouths shut because their abusers will come for their careers. I’ve already said this privately to multiple people, but I’ll say this here again: My only goal in this industry is to keep people safe. I would never work in games again if it meant people were safe. I have and will continue to put my own career and well-being on the line in order to call out these disgusting people who do NOT deserve a space in our industry and keep people safe. And the worst part is that every year, I’m not surprised. I’m not taken aback that this happens. I’m not surprised of the messages I get asking for help. It will continue to happen as long as those in power continue to protect horrific people. We deserve to go to industry events and feel safe. We deserve to go to industry parties and not have to be defensive. We deserve to do our jobs and not feel fear.

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics