Zander Cannon's KAIJUMAX — hi there, I have just read the first season of...

1.5M ratings
277k ratings

See, that’s what the app is perfect for.

Sounds perfect Wahhhh, I don’t wanna

Anonymous asked:

hi there, I have just read the first season of Kaijumax. I just wanted to share my thoughts. I was not expecting it to be what it was. I wanted to read it cause of your colorful art, and the giant space monsters. Your story holds a raw, emotional reality I was not prepared for. I was disgusted by your story, despite desperately hoping that it somehow wraps up happy. I wish I could be angry with you for it. I feel that was your intention, in a way. its art. It moved me but its too much for me

I… don’t think I was trying to make anyone angry, but this ask made me get a little bit introspective. I think I was trying to be transgressive in terms of the premise of the book, and in terms of the “gags” (that is, the mashups of prison and kaiju tropes), but I quickly* realized that that unrelenting cruelty was not something that I liked making.

I appreciate that you feel like it made you feel something, and that was certainly my intention. I think the book made a barely-perceptible shift after the first book, when the prison-drama tropes were exhausted for the most part. It became, hopefully, a very slow story of personal triumph in the face of awful circumstances, and I was conscious of riding the line between dramatic and needlessly cruel with a bit more care.

I don’t blame you if you don’t care to read any more. It certainly is not what the funny monsters on the cover promise. I guess I will just say that I agree with you and leave it at that.

*slowly

See more posts like this on Tumblr

#*slowly