Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 10 at 15:20 vote accept dmk
Jul 10 at 15:18 comment added dmk Ultimately, I didn't know my real question until I posted here. This notion of a "lower route"... I've taken the lower route many, many times, but I couldn't have told you so: I've always just followed the path in front of me. If you're going from one terminal to another, it seems plausible that all the necessary stops might fit in between. If you don't have to, though, and if you don't realize you were rerouted all those other times, maybe you start to worry unnecessarily :).
Jul 10 at 15:18 comment added dmk She flew in from Schiphol. Flying to Schiphol provides the foundation to my international-arrival experience, and so perhaps explains my question: When you get off the plane in Amsterdam, you go through the terminal before all the security stuff. True, it's the EU, not the US, but that's what I've been conditioned to expect.
Jul 10 at 15:18 comment added dmk Thanks to everyone for the help! Once I satisfied myself that everything would go smoothly enough, I didn't bother my girlfriend with any details during her layover: Quick, let me explain all the reasons you don't have to worry! But the next day she read over what everyone wrote and said it described her experience pretty well. So our only source of anxiety turned out to be how ridiculously slowly things moved that day at JFK :/.
Jul 5 at 20:08 history became hot network question
Jul 5 at 13:42 answer added jcaron timeline score: 9
Jul 5 at 13:28 comment added jcaron Where is she arriving from? There's a special case if she arrives from Dublin.
Jul 5 at 12:17 answer added Nicolas Formichella timeline score: 8
Jul 5 at 12:12 comment added Giacomo Catenazzi I assume like many intercontinental flights: you are forced to follow the "lower route" and get to immigration (you do not pass to transfer area), and custom. You will not allowed on common area before custom and immigration. On some European and South American airports there may be checks at gates (a separated area): common on small airport where you do not want to put separate infrastructure, and not many so passengers/flights/ (but mostly for departure control).
S Jul 5 at 12:05 review First questions
Jul 5 at 12:35
S Jul 5 at 12:05 history asked dmk CC BY-SA 4.0