Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 6 at 6:50 comment added Hilmar A) Yes, you will have to reclear security at JFK. B) It's worth nothing that have not just "left secure area" but you have fully entered into the US and are free to move about in the US to your heart's content (missing your connection in the process) . So even if you have an international to international connection, you fully need to enter the US and need to have credentials to do so.
Jul 5 at 13:21 history edited Nicolas Formichella CC BY-SA 4.0
added 180 characters in body
Jul 5 at 13:12 comment added Nicolas Formichella @dmk When you exit a flight you may leave the secure area. It is very dependent on what airport you travel through. For example, to transfer between terminals at JFK, you do leave the secure area to take the AirTrain, and go through TSA at the other end, because the AirTrain is only landside (before security). While some airports may have a direct airside bus or peoplemover between terminals.
Jul 5 at 12:50 comment added dmk Thank you :). When I come back to the US via Atlanta, I get off the plane, line up to show my passport, collect my bag, recheck it, go through the x-ray machine and then find my way to the gate of my connecting flight. I think that's the process you're describing here. Is that correct? I've never really thought of that as ("mostly") "leaving" the airport, though perhaps the act of going through security implies one's having left (in some legal sense)?
Jul 5 at 12:17 history answered Nicolas Formichella CC BY-SA 4.0