Categories
Featured Fun Getting Shit Done Learning

Discerning the value of note-taking

Replied to Too Much Information: Why Personal Knowledge Management Is Hard (Analog Office)

Difficult truth: The more complex the information you manage is, the more complex your systems will have to be.

I so appreciate Anna’s thoughtful prompts. Her piece is great but today I’m “yes and-ing” a tiny aside in it:

you make a lot of notes for yourself (btw IRL most people do not do this, just sayin’)

This friendly jibe got me thinking — I’ve seen a related sentiment from many places that note taking is not particularly productive for most people, and that knowledge management can be somewhat a fool’s mission. To each their own, but personally, I have found my mind garden to be a huge spur in my thinking. I wanted to dig into why I find my mind garden worth the time and effort when others do not.

I realized that, for me, the act of note-taking is a form of deeper engagement with the material. The notes themselves may not be valuable, but the act of taking them is critical. It brings my consideration of the ideas to another level, prioritizing what’s important and noting what sparks my thinking. It keeps me actively processing rather than falling into skimming. I also feel, as Burkeman recently put into words, that the details of any individual work are not what the important takeaway is for me, but rather how that work fits into or shifts my big picture perspective — or as he puts it, shapes my sensibility.

Often I’m set off by a stray remark like this one, a tangent to the original work’s point, and for me that’s totally fine: I’m reading to think and make connections, and I’ll take them wherever they arise. I have no set expectation of what I’ll take away from most of what I read or watch. I’m not an academic, focused on a particular topic or theme; I’m not coalescing information towards any particular end, but following my curiosity. That’s not to say I don’t want to be intentional in what I spend my time thinking about, but that my reading and thinking is oriented around some big questions that are important to me, not intended to inform a professional product for others.

I totally understand why others would think it’s ridiculous or time-wasteful, but I find I like doing things these days without considering their efficiency or utility. I’ve been driven by these precepts so long, it’s a good practice for me to set them aside occasionally. Like leisure need not be earned, neither must learning be driven by purpose or need. I see this thought pattern emerge in many forms in our society: we argue vacation is important because it makes you a better worker, not because work should not constitute our entire lives; applied science and engineering get more funding than basic science research that’s not immediately monetizable; hobbies are expected to become side hustles. Focusing on the end product to the exclusion of other outcomes (like play) is the same attitude that leads to effective altruism. I think disrupting this cultural fixation we have on productivity from time to time can be a healthy reminder that we are more than our work.

How will you be useless to capitalism today?
Baby step subversion.

My website is a place I play; if I’m having fun, it’s served its main purpose. Thinking and writing bring me joy. I’m ok with my learning drifting slowly with the currents of my reading. For those who treat their knowledge management systems more traditionally, being effective and efficient in their note-taking is an essential part of the system; here, a less methodical approach suits my different needs and goals.

By Tracy Durnell

Writer and designer in the Seattle area. Reach me at tracy.durnell@gmail.com. She/her.

12 replies on “Discerning the value of note-taking”

What’s an effective process for completing creative work? Last updated 2023 October 27 | More of my big questions Sub-questions How do reading, writing, and thinking fit together? How do I decide what to work on? How can I make progress on multiple projects at once? How can I make progress on long-term projects while…

How can I improve my thinking? Last updated 2024 May 19 | More of my big questions Sub-questions How do reading, writing and thinking fit together? What process changes would help me think better? How can I be more proactive in what I want to think about? Bookshelf Related books I’ve read since 2021. Links…

Thank you Anna! Ooh, exciting — I can’t wait to hear what you have to say! A subject near and dear to my heart. Most of the time I feel I’ve overcome the work-worth mentality, but still sometimes find myself caught up by it.

Liked Do I Have Time for This? by Amanda Montei (Mad Woman)

One thing I am never not thinking about, though, is how all nonfiction today feels pushed into providing solutions to inexorable problems—and how our habits as readers, and what we want from nonfiction texts, increasingly reflect that “historically specific… method of valuing work and existence” that Odell explores. We want a book to be productive, a good use of our time.

I’m also thinking this week about scarcity— about how we want a book to do a thing for us, an activity to be productive, because we live with a scarcity mentality around time.

See also:
Discerning the value of note-taking
So Many Books

Via DANIËL VAN DER WINDEN

Anna Havron gives tips on managing your note-taking and calls out:

The magic is in the fact that writing is a transit system, which transports little electrical sparks in your synapses into things that affect shared reality.

Keeping a focus on what purpose a note serves — logistical, inspirational — can help you discard less useful information:

Be picky about what goes into your systems.
I have several paper notebooks I just scribble down ideas in. Each day I look them over for actionable notes, and scoop those out. Otherwise, when they are full, I scan them over, and only a few more notes get entered into my systems.

(My poor digital gathering practices means this article’s been open in my tabs for six+ weeks 🤦‍♀️ The actionable bit is the sticking point for me: I leave tabs open as a reminder because I don’t trust my systems or backlog.)
+
Cory Doctorow enumerates his blogging process and how he uses his blog as a digital garden:

Far from competing with my “serious” writing time, blogging has enabled me to write an objectively large quantity of well-regarded, commercially and critically successful prose…

The genius of the blog was not in the note-taking, it was in the publishing. The act of making your log-file public requires a rigor that keeping personal notes does not. Writing for a notional audience — particularly an audience of strangers — demands a comprehensive account that I rarely muster when I’m taking notes for myself.

Every now and again, a few of these fragments will stick to each other and nucleate, crystallizing a substantial, synthetic analysis out of all of those bits and pieces I’ve salted into that solution of potential sources of inspiration.

I love thinking of information as a nucleation site.

In the (my) blogging method, the writer blogs about everything that seems interesting, until a subject gels out of all of those disparate, short pieces.

+
Matthias Ott elaborating on Doctorow’s piece:

[Rick Rubin’s] approach is to not limit his input at all, meaning that he curiously allows to enter his mind whatever draws his attention, regardless of whether it might seem relevant or “useless” in his current situation. There is no such thing as useless information, because you never know which new ideas will emerge as a synthesis of all the individual fragments of creative input you were exposed to in the past.

(I bailed on The Creative Act because I didn’t like the way he framed his ideas around “Source” but I keep encountering interesting thoughts gathered by others who persevered 😂)

The thing is: This process isn’t a science. The only thing we can do is to be curious, keep a record of the things we deem to be significant, and constantly look for clues pointing to new ideas, for fragments of thought suddenly turning into something bigger.

See also: Foraging for insights
Discerning the value of note-taking

Active processing tools: worksheets, notebooks, index cards, writing in different formats
Selection
Escape the feed and decide what to intake. Prompt yourself with new and different material.
Forms of curation

looking for recommendations from people I know or follow
browsing curated lists
considering what would be useful to learn now
choosing what to intake and ordering material
going deeper into a subject
investigating primary documents
deciding what to ignore
creating clusters to consume in tandem

Forms of exploration

explicitly trying new music, new artists, and new authors
looking at visual arts in books or online image databases (seeking inspiration beyond social media)
browsing, accepting serendipity
following curiosity paths
thinking about what sounds fun or exciting now
exploring online with friends

Intake
Build new routines or systems with intentional time to read, watch, and listen to what you’ve chosen.

Forms of intake

reading articles
reading books
looking up new words and concepts
listening to music
listening to podcasts
watching videos

Processing
Give yourself time and space to think about what you’ve consumed. Translate what you’ve learned into a useful or memorable format.
Forms of Passive processing
Allowing space to think about what I’ve taken in recently and soak in the vibes by not occupying my mind with some other form of intake while:

walking
exercising
cooking
baking
gardening
showering
lounging around

Forms of Active processing
Considering what I’ve taken in through active engagement with it:

blogging
creating notes
organizing info in excel
brainstorming / braindumping / making lists
exercises / worksheets
talking ideas through with friends

Forms of review

looking back at notes to reinforce them
telling friends about what I’ve read
writing book reviews
noticing what caught my attention or surprised me
foraging for insights

Integration and Transformation
Find synergies, make connections, and document incremental changes in your thinking. Create new works informed or inspired by what you consumed.
Forms of synthesis

adding cross-references between past notes and ideas
identifying connections between ideas and extrapolating further
applying ideas to my current projects
applying thoughts and lessons to my Big Questions

Forms of Creation

crafting a longer, more comprehensive blog post in response to things I’ve recently learned and thoughts I’ve had, adding analysis and enriching with depth, turning synthesis into something sharable and additive
writing prose (fiction or non-fiction)


Liked Loose threads by Lisa Olivera (Human Stuff from Lisa Olivera)

I’ve been thinking about how we say we value authenticity, but what we *actually* seem to collectively gobble up is the opposite, or at least the top layer of it: After/Overcoming stories, healing memes, emotionally easy narratives, overly-simplified versions of what is muddy and murky underneath.

How can I avoid turning myself or my life into a lesson, a symbol of anything other than a web of multitudes?

Exercising patience, not thinking we’re done before we’re done, giving ourselves time to pass through an experience and reflect on it rather than bundling it into comfortable, familiar platitudes.

I feel like I’m living this liminal space now — I feel pressure to have found a transformation, a lesson in my departure. When I left my job last year, I felt like I needed a story to explain my choices without revealing personal information, but I didn’t yet know what that story was. Even now, I fumble to find more meaning there than exists, when perhaps it’s as simple as finally prioritizing myself. I put off posting about starting my new work in part because it meant committing, but also in part because I didn’t have a neat parable, because I’m still in the phase of becoming, because failure still is very possible.
See also: Living by a story
Time is part of the growing process
Swimming outside the lanes

how can we tend to ourselves, our stories, our thoughts and questions, while also remembering there is so much beyond us? How can we pay attention to our interior without getting stuck there?

I slow way, way down and feel the way not rushing supports me in taking right action. I turn toward my projects and chores and tasks no one knows about, that no one would find important or newsworthy, and remember they are the things that make up my actual life.

Steeping yourself in reality. Choosing what is tangible rather than abstract, direct rather than signalling, personal rather than performative. Rejecting society’s values in favor of your needs. Embracing smallness, realness, simpleness.
See also: Explore Mode
Discerning the value of note-taking

Leave a Reply