Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags
(+1)

Very impressive game, but I couldn't get into playing it much because I had lots of issues with the joystick controls and I don't like playing games like this on kb+m.

The joystick worked out of the box but the axes were wrong, and I couldn't remap them in the game. The Unity launcher seemed to be the only place to edit the joystick bindings, but it didn't detect my joystick and I had to use another controller to map the axes and then edit the Unity prefs file manually to change the controller they refer to.

While using joystick mode I noticed the mouse cursor is invisible but still present, making targeting practically impossible with the mouse, and there's no button on the joystick for targeting.

Another quirk I found odd was that rolling with the joystick twist axis will roll the ship but not the camera, while pressing Q/E will roll the camera but not the ship. I suppose this is because in mouse mode the ship will rotate to match the camera automatically or something, but it felt very weird while playing with the stick.

As the known issues note, joystick support for the game is.... vestigial at best. I don't recommend playing with it. It's basically hooked up to some basic controls and that's about it.

Understandable, but I would recommend fixing it sooner rather than later. Games like this are much more enjoyable with proper controllers rather than kb+m, to the point where I don't feel like playing it without proper support.

Ehhhh with the way the gameplay on this works, it's designed HEAVILY around m+kb, much like Freelancer.

Do as you wish, but you should either fix the joystick option to be at least playable, or remove it (for now) as it's currently unusable but shown in the controls menu.