other

The common man's poetry

As I look out across the paths of light
In wonder at the littleness of earth
A meteor (?) and that fierce flight
Reflects my spirit in its sudden birth
Infinity about all Time and Space
Equation factors in a changeless plan!
What matter that a star should lose its place
And trace its image on the mind of man?

Some say that Space is finite, like a ball.
How many worlds and suns it calls its own
I wonder at it now. Yet, above all
Greater than Space with shining star dust strewn
Older by far than Time itself
Is this within which makes me wonder so
"Night" by Albert Sidney Johnathan, 1938

I love poetry. I love reading it, I love writing it. Hell — I even love interpreting it, despite it all. And there are some classics I love. Some big names that are big for a reason, believe it or not, have written poems that resonate with me deeply. And of course they are remembered for this skill.

But one of my favourite genres of poetry is, I feel, criminally underappreciated. That is the poetry of the common man. Just some guy. We are all capable of writing poems, some of us do it now and again just because we feel like it and we like doing it. And yet many of us don't consider ourselves "poets" per se. That is surely just a title for those who have been professionally published? Opinions could devide on this matter.

Read more…

tech

The web belongs to everyone. But also does it?

While the world wide web and the internet as a whole used to be something only tech nerds and government services cared about, nowadays we rely heavily on it: for work, keeping in contact with friends and to stay informed. Comparing the internet to a luxury is simply fantasy (recall in your mind the image of some guy complaining about homeless people buying an iPhone) because the internet seeps into so many aspects of our life that it has become a necessity; and to live wholly offline is something that is hard to achieve and brings with it many drawbacks.

Read more…

tech

[fav] Interactivity of personal sites and webmentions

Reply to webmentions make me sad by Alex

Read more…

tech

Some 88x31 IndieWeb buttons

I've added the following three buttons to the IndieWeb wiki this week. I immediately jumped at the chance to make some when I saw the concept of them being suggested.

indieweb webmention microformats

I love 88x31px buttons! This whole thing has made me add some to my homepage again.

The ones above were simply inspired/using the design of the 80x15px banners that already existed on the wiki. The borders were taken from the official W3C validator buttons, such as, for example, the one you get when jigsaw.w3.org deems your css valid.

Below are some more "classical" type buttons I made in the past 2 days. I couldn't come up with more but I wanna share what I've got so far.

Read more…

tech

Search Engine Hostility

Every website owner requires the use of search engine optimizaztion (SEO) for their websites. unsolicited spam e-mail

I recieved this email yesterday and it sent me thinking about the corporate vs personal web again.

I'm not quite sure how to start this. I don't want to imply that a personal page with no secret motive for monetary gain can't benefit from SEO – most indie site webmasters I know make use of SEO and I sometimes even see their websites when I google something unrelated and it makes me smile.

But I personally have always practiced more of a SEH approach to my site. My robots.txt basically reads "no". I don't want my site to appear on Google nor anywhere else. How do I maximize my audience then? I don't. How you found me is between you and the evil overlord (Musk) or whatever gods you pray to.

Read more…

other

December '23 IndieWeb Carnival Roundup

two instant camera pictures of people holding sparklers

Happy New Year 2024 from me and my friends

Happy New Year! Lots of people responded to my Indieweb Carnival prompt about holiday/December traditions. I'm glad we could share such different perspectives and personal feelings about the season.

These were all submissions:

Read more…

other

IndieWeb Carnival December 2023 — Holiday and December traditions

This is the prompt post for this months Indieweb Blogging Carnival. If you have a website you can write a response to this post and let me know by sending a Webmention or via e-mail.

Happy Holidays, Indieweb! Or perhaps just happy December? For this months carnival I'd like to invite you to write a bit about your December traditions.

Read more…

tech

I love "ugly" internet sites that "can't do anything"

This week at HWC we talked a lot about various crazy and "unnecessary" things you could make your website do, like giving someone the ability to navigate by speech or hand gestures. I think it's really cool that such things work! I don't really get how it works so it's pretty much magic to me.

My own website is static and that's how I like it. Still, it isn't exactly "non"-dynamic. Occasionally there's Javascript stuff and there's my one beloved cgi script that shows what I'm listening to on Spotify (see below). All in all I don't think it loads very fast on bad internet, which bothers me a bit.

I am listening to:

I love sites that are very tiny, not glamorous, "ugly" and sites that don't have a lot of fancy functions. Here's why:

Read more…

tech

This post was typewritten

NOT-ID Post consists of images, ID is provided at the bottom of the page

Read more…

other

Quick Thoughts on IndieWeb Social Norms

Reply to The First Stab at the Indieweb Interaction Social Norms by Sara

Read more…

tech

toki pona and the small-net: a match made in ma-sewi

Toki Pona – a constructed language based on a simple philosophy and the small net – a community centered, seemingly, around reliving the past: these two things have more in common than you may think.

Read more…