tech

Some 88x31 IndieWeb buttons

I've added the following three buttons to the IndieWeb wiki this week. I immediately jumped at the chance to make some when I saw the concept of them being suggested.

indieweb webmention microformats

I love 88x31px buttons! This whole thing has made me add some to my homepage again.

The ones above were simply inspired/using the design of the 80x15px banners that already existed on the wiki. The borders were taken from the official W3C validator buttons, such as, for example, the one you get when jigsaw.w3.org deems your css valid.

Below are some more "classical" type buttons I made in the past 2 days. I couldn't come up with more but I wanna share what I've got so far.


There's one other button that I added to the wiki that I now feel like maybe I shouldn't have? It looks so out of place!

Here it is, as it appears on the wiki:

indieweb.org now flashing gif

However, I don't really like this version that much anymore, I kind of prefer this one, which is why I've got it on my homepage:

similar to the above image but the IWC logo is not outlined

The contrast of yellow against the background is bad but I still prefer it without the outline.

Today I made a few Webmention buttons, here's the first one:

Webmentioned logo with a 1 in a red circle at the top. First text reads: you've been mentioned. It then switches to the webmention logo without notification and says Webmention Now! instead

There's also the versions with these two split up, in case you prefer that:

only youve been mentioned part only webmention now!

Last one I did is a little animated one with two tiny little guys in it:

two people, one on the PC the other on the phone. A sees something, says they heart it. Out of the PC comes the microformats logo and attaches itself to the statement. They fly to person B who has a Webmention logo in front of them. Webmention successful. Person B sees it and smiles.

This post is really short and cut up by these chunky little images so I'm reluctant to send it to Indienews but maybe someone really gets a kick out of 88x31 buttons and I don't want to deny them these or the general idea of making their own. Mine are really simple but maybe someone sees this and gets inspired to make their own IndieWeb buttons – or just general 88x31 buttons!

I know these are big on neocities and I've long thought about making one to represent my site, even back when I had a different domain and before that, but I'd first have to come up with some sort of consistent logo. Anyway, I have some idea for general buttons before that which I wanna make first.

Also, in case it wasn't clear, these are absolutely free to do whatever with, no need for credit or anything. CC0 and all that.

Also posted to Indienews.

written by human, not AI

Tags: indieweb