personal

[fav] Interactive Guide of my Jacket

Hey! I've mentioned before, in my carnival post about the weather, that autumn is the perfect season for wearing your favourite jacket.

My favourite jacket is very customized. I've always wanted to have a cool "punk" jacket with pins and patches and statements on it, so once I became old enough that my parents didn't bother fighting over clothes anymore I went to town on some apparel. My favourite and oldest intact example of which is the following jacket.

Just click on anything on my jacket that you'd like to see up close and know more about!


Note: I'm a desktop first kinda girlie, and I really like imagemaps, I think they are super underused – but they also only work with a set height and width… Which is why these first two images (which are already pretty small, look at that pretty gif dithering!) are too large for small screens.

Peace Faction Paradox Planet Express Get In Loser Memento Mori Weltuntergang 2012: ich war dabei Alas ASDF Movie character puking a rainbow Homophobie ist voll schwul! There is no Planet B Fly classic smiley Protect Trans Lives! Lemon Demon Planet Express Hello! I am: trying my best Pocket Watch TARDIS Stop Mental Health Stigma

Planet Express

Pin badge. The Planet Express logo from Futurama

My first ever patch! This was the first thing I got explicitly to put on my jacket and also the first thing I put on my jacket. You can see it's barely holding together but it has great emotional value, being the first and also because Futurama is such a good show.

Get in Loser

this patch is round and looks exactly like those I want to believe alien posters that I'm almost sure are from the x files? perhaps not

One of my oldest patches. I don't like it that much.

Weltuntergang 2012: ich war dabei!

English: End of the world 2012: I was there!

I've had this pin since, you've guessed it, 2012! This pin used to be white on black but time turned it brown. Bought this at Hugendubel (a book store), with such things as this punny pope eraser (image from welt.de since I obviously don't have this anymore):

Alas!

Pin badge. Alas! is the word that stands above a green skull

I got this pin at the Shakespeare museum in London, when I was there on a school trip in 2018. I also got a tiny tiny book with Hamlet in it and started reading it on the bus ride home.

ASDF Movie

Pin badge. The ADSF Movie character that pukes a rainbow

Ah yeah, asdf movie. These videos were really big when I was 13 or so. I got this at a school trip to the annual book fair in Leipzig in 2015.

It's also the first ever pride "merch" I had.

Homophobie ist voll schwul!

English: homophobia is so gay!

Die PARTEI is a German political party whos campaigns are always very ironic and funny. So not many people vote for them. I got this pin at my first pride parade (called CSD here) in 2017.

There is no Planet B

Earth shaped pin badge.

Don't remember when I got this. I got it from wish which I know is incredibly ironic. I don't order from wish anymore, I had a phase where I did that a lot though.

Fly

Pin badge of a watercolor fly

Got it this year at the annual, local comic and manga convention. Bought it from the artist directly. Don't know their name.

Memento Mori patch

Self-made, naturally. You can see that I'm not very great at embroidering. The skull on there is made from an old white sock, I am pretty sure!

Classic yellow Smiley patch

Got this and the TARDIS patch at the same time. Ordered online from Amazon.

Protect Trans Lives patch

This is one of my oldest patches aquired specifically for my jacket. I must've had it for about 5 or 6 years. I like to think it makes trans people who see it feel a bit more safe?

Lemon Demon patch

Clearly self-made! I love Lemon Demon's music and Neil Cicierega is generally such an internet icon (not exaggerating, look up all the things he's made I'll bet you know some of them).

"Name tag" patch

One of my oldest ones. Nowadays I think it's a bit too corny but other people seem to really like it; for example some donations guy pointed it out as "very funny" a few years ago.

Mysterious chain: a pocketwatch!

Got it this year at the annual, local comic and manga convention. Bought it from the artist directly. Don't know their name.

TARDIS patch

Got this and the smiley patch at the same time. Ordered online from Amazon.

End Mental Health Stigma

My most hard to read pin on the whole jacket.

Peace patch

My newest patch, I think. I got it this year. The colors are very vibrant. As you see it is currently attached with big safety pins because it came lose (these are usually ironed on). I got it because yay, peace in general and also the war in Ukraine. And I'm just generally a convinced pacifist, which is luckily not special or anything.

"Faction Paradox" logo painted straight onto the jacket

I did this today! :^) I initially wanted to embroider it but that would've taken soooo long!!

Faction Paradox is a Doctor Who spinoff book and audio series surrounding a time-traveling blood cult that came from the BBC Eighth Doctor Adventure Novels. I haven't read any Faction books or heard any audios but I really really enjoyed them in the EDAs. Also the logo and name are just cool.

Back to front or back to back

written by human, not AI

Tags: personal, art, favs