It's even worse than it appears..
Friday July 12, 2024; 8:37 AM EDT
  • My notes as I listen to the July 12, 2004 podcast 20 years later.#
  • Oddpost bought by Yahoo. I talk about "dynamic html apps" which today we'd call web apps, I guess. Oddpost was kind of a miracle, done by the team that did HalfBrain, a browser-based spreadsheet. Apparently Oddpost came out before GMail, which if I recall correctly came out around that time, maybe May 2004? I remember I was in St Augustine when it came out. I still use that GMail account all the time for basically everything. #
  • RSS 2.0 namespaces aren't evolving as I hoped they would, but Movable Type did a great job in helping the format coalesce, thanking them for that. #
  • Daniel Berlinger wants to know why he should vote for Kerry. I never get around to saying why he should vote for Kerry. I didn't handle this well. I think we had the same animosity that doesn't serve us, not even talking to people who support the other candidate. #
  • As in the previous podcast, I'm not sure I like what I'm saying here. But I agree with 2004 Dave's decision this time not to vote for Bush and be an enthusiastic supporter of the Democrat. I wonder if my podcasts of 2024 sound any different.#
  • Iraq was the big issue in 2004. We started an unprovoked war. Kind of like what Russia is doing in Ukraine, today, btw. #
  • Again, it's interesting to listen to myself speaking in words that sound like me, saying things today's me thinks are naive. And in fact almost by definition they are. The world we live in today didn't exist in 2004. #
  • I wish I knew where I was on this day, I can hear cars driving by. But I'm sure I'm not driving. Is it NY? No clue. #
  • The Scripting News archive for the day. #
  • PS: It is in NYC! Right at the end of the podcast. It was 9:02AM. Pretty close to the current time today 20 years later. #

© copyright 1994-2024 Dave Winer.

Last update: Friday July 12, 2024; 9:14 AM EDT.

You know those obnoxious sites that pop up dialogs when they think you're about to leave, asking you to subscribe to their email newsletter? Well that won't do for Scripting News readers who are a discerning lot, very loyal, but that wouldn't last long if I did rude stuff like that. So here I am at the bottom of the page quietly encouraging you to sign up for the nightly email. It's got everything from the previous day on Scripting, plus the contents of the linkblog and who knows what else we'll get in there. People really love it. I wish I had done it sooner. And every email has an unsub link so if you want to get out, you can, easily -- no questions asked, and no follow-ups. Go ahead and do it, you won't be sorry! :-)