It's even worse than it appears..
Today's podcast, what we need from Biden, and how we need journalism to get out of the way. Biden has a base. He should communicate directly with us. Joe, tell us you saw what we saw. A snake oil salesman. A con man. A loser. A criminal. We heard the tape of him blackmailing the Secretary of State of Georgia. He wanted the military to shoot Black Lives Matter protestors. Did he sell our secrets to Putin and others? He did all kinds of horrible stuff that the press has forgotten to talk about. The biggest problem here isn't Biden's age, though it is a problem, it's the controlling nature of our journalism, and the lack of any oversight. They can't be criticized because all we have are our individual voices, with no organization. We keep paying the price. This podcast is in the form of a voicemail to an old friend, Jeff Jarvis, who I introduce at the beginning of the podcast. We share the same frustrations, I can see it in his posts on various social media networks. I'd like to elevate our discourse. And in the meantime, imho, it's a pretty good story. 10 minutes. 😄#
There's a new version of the Blogroll Browser this morning.#
Not sure if it ever came out why Trump stole the secret docs. Did he sell copies? If so, for how much and to whom. This would make an excellent news story. I imagine President Biden knows all about this, btw. #
This is how much of the activity on Threads, for me at least, comes from the fediverse. #
  • The list (in alphabetic order)#
    • Black lives matter #
    • Climate change response#
    • Democrats respect our democracy#
    • Fair taxes for the 1 percent#
    • Immigrants built America#
    • Restore balance to the Supreme Court#
    • Restore Roe v Wade#
    • So Trump is prosecuted for his crimes#
    • There could be another pandemic#
    • Trump wants to be a Putin oligarch#
    • Trump wants to be an autocrat#
    • Trump will bring us Holocaust 2.0#
    • Trump will surrender to Russia#
  • This is a snapshot of the FAQ page. #
  • ChatGPT provides better support for other people's products than they do. For example, I signed up for a trial subscription to BritBox on Amazon Prime, and a few days later decided I didn't want to continue. Amazon is famous for having terrible docs, in every part of the system. They made it basically impossible for me to quickly find the place where you unsubscribe. Okay so I asked ChatGPT and it knew how to do it, and I was unsubscribed in a few seconds. This feature pays for the whole $20 this month, everything else is a bonus. #
  • Another example. Something seemed screwed up in Caddy, a wonderful product, makes it super easy to support HTTPS. But the docs were written by programmers, and thus lack a user's perspective. Pretty common thing, and hard to avoid. So I asked ChatGPT questions to help me dig into the problem. It's annoyingly overly verbose, it answers questions I didn't ask, and thus wastes time, but -- in about ten minutes it put something on a checklist which turned out to be the problem. It's hard to debug a system problem you weren't expecting to have. The robot doesn't need to have its memory refreshed, unlike my 69-year-old human brain. #
  • When I write these little stories I hope to counter the fear hype out there, because ChatGPT is an amazingly useful breakthrough product. I'm always finding new incredible uses for it. Products like this come along at most every twenty years or so. I've created some good software in my life, but nothing like this. This is like the Beatles or the web. It's that difference-making. #

© copyright 1994-2024 Dave Winer.

Last update: Sunday June 30, 2024; 11:29 PM EDT.

You know those obnoxious sites that pop up dialogs when they think you're about to leave, asking you to subscribe to their email newsletter? Well that won't do for Scripting News readers who are a discerning lot, very loyal, but that wouldn't last long if I did rude stuff like that. So here I am at the bottom of the page quietly encouraging you to sign up for the nightly email. It's got everything from the previous day on Scripting, plus the contents of the linkblog and who knows what else we'll get in there. People really love it. I wish I had done it sooner. And every email has an unsub link so if you want to get out, you can, easily -- no questions asked, and no follow-ups. Go ahead and do it, you won't be sorry! :-)