It's even worse than it appears..
The best software does one thing well, that a lot of people want to do, that there is no other way to do. I've never seen this, but it's the ideal.#
There's a new kitten to keep track of -- Wordle Kitty. When I need to score a big win, I turn Wordle over to this kitten and she does a kickass job while remaining as cute as can be. #
Thanks for all the good advice via email and Mastodon re best way to record an interview podcast in 2024. I'm really getting into this. I'm definitely going to come up with a nice pure podcast feed for Scripting News. But first I have some new software to ship. 😄#
Bruce Schneier has a new blog moderation policy. Everyone should have one. #
  • More and more I see comments, unless explicitly asked for, as spam that I'd disable if I could. #
  • Most of the energy in social networks these days goes into keeping the garbage out of replies. If originators had stronger tools, there would be less work for the platform to do, and overall happier people. #
  • On Facebook, I often limit comments to friends, who don't tend to spam, presumably because we like to stay on good terms, and spam is an imposition, at best, and often insulting.#

© copyright 1994-2024 Dave Winer.

Last update: Friday June 21, 2024; 9:11 PM EDT.

You know those obnoxious sites that pop up dialogs when they think you're about to leave, asking you to subscribe to their email newsletter? Well that won't do for Scripting News readers who are a discerning lot, very loyal, but that wouldn't last long if I did rude stuff like that. So here I am at the bottom of the page quietly encouraging you to sign up for the nightly email. It's got everything from the previous day on Scripting, plus the contents of the linkblog and who knows what else we'll get in there. People really love it. I wish I had done it sooner. And every email has an unsub link so if you want to get out, you can, easily -- no questions asked, and no follow-ups. Go ahead and do it, you won't be sorry! :-)