Recently I created a proof of concept of publishing book lists, what I’ve read, what I plan to read etc., using OPML. Andy Sylvester picked it up and created his own list, as a way of experimenting with federated bookshelves. He used the XSLT style sheet I created to be able to render the OPML file in a human readable way in your browser. It seems to work, although it doesn’t render in the browser yet.

Andy, I think the reason it doesn’t render in the browser is because you are loading the style sheet from my domain. The XSLT file must be hosted on the same domain as the OPML file, otherwise it triggers cross-site scripting protections. It should work properly if you download the XSLT I use and put it on your own host.

Hosting the XSLT style sheet also allows you to adapt one other detail: right now there are some tweaks in my version based on the author name of a collection or feed. If it is my name it renders as ‘my list’ and otherwise as ‘list I follow’. When you self host the style sheet you can change the mentions of my name to yours and it will make the proper distinction between your lists and lists you follow.

10 reactions on “Andy Tries Out My OPML Book Lists

  1. @JohnPhilpin thank you, yes, doing it this way was an evolution of already exposing my opml list of rss subscriptions in machine and human readable form simultaneously, turning that OPML list into my blogroll as well.

Comments are closed.