Splash Damage’s Post

View organization page for Splash Damage, graphic

45,943 followers

In today's episode of 'Splash Damage Makes You Feel Old', Brink turns THIRTEEN today. It remains one of our most celebrated titles; introducing a now ubiquitous movement system (you're welcome), having legendary character designs, and popularising the colour blue. To celebrate, we dug into the archives to pull out some things you may not have seen before: 📜 A look at the original Brink script, covered in notes and amendments (more in the comments) 🎥 The original, hand-drawn, Brink storyboards ✍️ Some beautiful, pencil-lined sketches of our early characters We'll also be sharing more photos, videos, and memories in the comments below this post - and ask that you share *your* memories of Brink on its birthday.

  • This is a collection of NEVER BEFORE SEEN Brink artwork and documents.
  • This is an image of some amazing drawings of Brink characters from while the game was in development
  • A close up of the Brink box art
  • A non-confidentiality breaking close up of a bit of the Brink script
  • This is an image of some of the Brink storyboard
    +1
Bob Jones

2D Art , Concept Art, Character Design, 2D Animation, Pixel Animation & Voice over. Currently at Gameloft Brisbane

2mo

This was one of my all time favourite games. It managed to have this brilliant idea, done extremely well and whether you played multiplayer or single player, it still holds up as a unique design and a smooth story. I also loved that you managed to make it feel like the previous games... Enemy Territy, then Quake Wars, Dirty Bomb ( I was on the BETA of that one ) ...you can see the same games design trickle down through each Project. Splash Damage remains one of my all time FPS gaming companies. Well done on every project... there's just not enough time to enjoy all your titles... All the best with your next cool thing. 🍺

There's also an excellent dev diary series on Bethesda's YouTube channel. It details all kinds of things; from the SMART movement system, to the classes in the game, how the HUD functions, and the kinds of objectives we built to encourage team play. Have a look: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL019C15C149E4932C

Firstly, did you know Brink is now FREE on Steam? Reminisce, or play for the very first time: https://store.steampowered.com/app/22350/BRINK/

If you'll allow me to break the I/We wall for a moment... This was Brink at Gamescom in 2010, and I was there! Little did I know that 8~ years later I'd be working at Splash, celebrating the anniversary of the very game that introduced me to the company.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Chris Pett 🔜 Gamescom

Supporting studios with award winning services @ Testronic

2mo

I love brink, and is maybe the most underated game from Splash Damage/Bethesda I have ever played, it had so much potential, but was just to early.

Jacob Heinzman

Student at Sheffield Hallam University studying Game Design & Development

2mo

This is one of my favourite games of all time and inspired me to start studying games design! I love this game and it never fails to inspire me.

Nikhil Suresh

Product Lead - Beatstar and Country Star music games at Space Ape. Also built my own games with 2 million+ downloads on mobile

2mo

Still one of the most unique styles for a game of its era. Shame about the 2011 PSN hack basically destroying any chance of the game establishing a foothold in gaming culture... RIP

Alessio Bellemo

Tech Animator at Stormind Games

2mo

Omg my first ever FPS... The Nostalgia's Real 🥲 Back then i didn't even care the game was running at 22 fps on my old PC 😆

Wow 13! Happy Birthday to Brink 👏👏

Andreas Agathangelou

Graduate Technical Artist

2mo

This game was revolutionary for its time! I remember playing this for the first time when I was 11 years old and being amazed at the amount of customizability it had to offer. The unique play-style of having different player builds that featured less or more movement was such a cool concept and it had me hooked! I will never forget this title!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics