Rayyan Islam’s Post

View profile for Rayyan Islam, graphic

Co-Founder and General Partner at 8090 Industries. Merchant of Decarbonization. Neo-Industrialist

🚨BREAKING: Volkswagen is taking a $1B stake in Rivian and will invest another $4B to form a joint venture. Rivian stock shot up 30% after-hours on the news. The companies said they will develop "next generation" battery-powered vehicles with leading edge software. A watershed moment for Rivian, that could along with their deep legacy partnership with Amazon, effectively securing their rightful place as an EV titan here to stay.

Volkswagen Invests $5 Billion in EV Startup Rivian to Form Joint Venture

Volkswagen Invests $5 Billion in EV Startup Rivian to Form Joint Venture

bloomberg.com

Tameron McGurren-Leal

Climate Junkie | GenZ | Aspiring Engineer | Meathead

1mo

I feel like the writing has been on the wall for a little bit that Rivian would emerge with Tesla out as the new EV kids on the block to challenge legacy automakers. Personally, I would like to see Apple buy Rivian, but this is an amazing step too.

Rick Jones

Cloud Engineer at NextGen Healthcare

1mo

Stock is still down 30% overall for the year... a 30% monetary bump is even smaller than that of meme-coins. VW is just playing the long game and knowing that the failure of Rivian in the U.S is inevitable - this is them looking to corner their technology and introduce it into markets that will actually net profits.

Like
Reply
Drake Blessum

Hardware & Software Sales Enthusiast I Sunscreen Entrepreneur I PropTech I Travel Junkie

1mo

Love this investment. Rivian is close to breaking through. I do think they need the affordable EV sooner.

Oleg Druzhinin

Industrial 3D Animator | Design Engineer | Tech content creator | Explainer Videos, Visualization, AR, VR

1mo

I hope this partnership can help Rivian to take a significant market share and become a serious competitor to Chinese manufacturers

Dave Heal

Sales @ Socialgist | Recruiting BD | Eradicating degree requirements one LinkedIn comment at a time

1mo

I hope this means I can get an R3X before I need adult diapers

Anyone in my network take my advice and invest in Rivian a while back?

Like
Reply

Good news for Rivian for sure!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics