Matt McCoy 🎥’s Post

View profile for Matt McCoy 🎥, graphic

Get a video for $30 before July 30 😎 → I help you build a top 1% LinkedIn brand in 1 hour/month 🏆 (Scroll down to learn how!) ⬇️

The story of how I landed a TED Talk 👇 So, I'm a BIG fan of TED Talks. A few years ago, I noticed my university was hosting a TED conference. That was my opportunity. I asked all my friends to refer me and fill out a form. And finally, TED said yes! I decided to call my talk "Are Universities Still Relevant?" It ended up being such a great experience for me, and really boosted my credibility. The biggest lesson I learned? Don't always follow the beaten path. You don't always get invited for opportunities. Sometimes, you gotta hustle and put yourself out there. With a bit of luck, opportunities will start to come your way. And that's the story of how I landed a TED Talk. -- Please like, comment & share if you got value from this post :) For more entrepreneurship stories like this, follow me!

Matt McCoy 🎥

Get a video for $30 before July 30 😎 → I help you build a top 1% LinkedIn brand in 1 hour/month 🏆 (Scroll down to learn how!) ⬇️

4mo

Want to know how my TED Talk went? Here it is, let me know what you think!! https://www.ted.com/talks/matt_mccoy_are_universities_still_relevant

JOY Langley

🧠Make Business Fun Again Through Mental & Emotional Strength | Emotional Intelligence Author Coach & Therapist For Highly Stressed Executives | Global Neuroscience SME | #ToughLove

3mo

Took a lot of guts and bravado to seize the opportunity, but I admire your strategy. From encouraging friends to endorse you, to coming up with a "cheeky" title about the relevance of universities 😉 Matt McCoy 🎙️

Jared Bonilla

Founder of DoINeedAI.com | Advising companies on if, when and how to use AI | 5+ years of data & AI experience

3mo

You're the coolest person I've connected with this year. I'm jealous - TEDTalk is my life goal Matt McCoy

Matt Antonucci

Be the leader employees BRAG about 🤗📢➡️ Daily Doses of Leadership Development & Motivation. 💡SVP Bank of America 🏦 All views and advice expressed are my own💬.

4mo

Make your own paths by seeking out opportunities. Make life happen! Great story Matt McCoy and obviously one that you look back on and see how you MADE the opportunity. Likely gave you confidence to make many more from there on out, right?

Anurag Tiwari

Helping Founders Get Inbound Leads with my LinkedIn Ghostwriting | 30K USD Client Revenue Generated In 6 Months | LinkedIn Growth Strategist & Ghostwriter |

4mo

That's the best hustle story I have come across today.

I love your approach Matt McCoy - getting your friends to refer. People may not feel comfortable doing that...but would you rather be shy and never get the chance to speak on TEDx or hustle and get on that stage?

Chris Cotter

Heart-Centric Leadership | Helping You Build Successful Teams

4mo

Great story about seizing an opportunity and making it happen, Matt McCoy. Don't be passive, and instead take an active and purposeful step forward.

Keenan Price

I make boring venues awesome with balloon arches - Balloon Artisan

3mo

Great story thanks for sharing!

Kristina DeLeo

Realtor® | Problem Solver | Team Builder

3mo

The path less traveled is WAY more fun 😆 Matt McCoy

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics