Matt McCoy 🎥’s Post

View profile for Matt McCoy 🎥, graphic

Get a video for $30 before July 30 😎 → I help you build a top 1% LinkedIn brand in 1 hour/month 🏆 (Scroll down to learn how!) ⬇️

It's day 1 of your business. Which one should you do first: 1) Build a product/service? Or 2) Get your first customer? (Comment your answer below) Personally, I think you should start by getting your first customer. When I started my first business in university, I cleaned and repaired people's barbecues. But believe it or not, I had never touched a barbecue before. And I knew nothing about them. I even struggled to clean my own dishes in my student house. So I went out and knocked on doors in my neighbourhood until I found a guy who was willing to pay me to clean his barbecue. But although my process was horrible, And although the job took me way too long, I figured it out and eventually completed my first service. Once I learned there was demand, we built up our service, scaled across Canada, and landed a deal on Dragons' Den. But it all started with that 1 barbecue. The lesson? Before you build a product/service, find a few customers to make sure there's demand for your idea! -- Please like, comment & share if you got value from this post :) For more entrepreneurship stories like this, follow me!

Fran Callado

Inbound Systems for Coaches & Thought Leaders ▪ Marketing Strategist ▪ let your systems attract your next clients! Try the free tools below to learn how! ↴

3mo

We did exactly the same thing with a recent business. And even though I'll be leaving it now, it's been running successfully for 2 years.

Rose Hamilton

Helping CPG Founders and Investors of innovative brands to profitably scale DTC & Retail businesses. Specialty in Vitamins & Supplements, Beauty and Pet markets. Podcast Host.

3mo

That is a tricky one because it could also go horribly wrong. I think the problem is wanting to have a perfect product before going to market. I don't think it is often perfect. Rather get something in place, then get out there and get testing so you can improve.

Anurag Tiwari

Helping Founders Get Inbound Leads with my LinkedIn Ghostwriting | 30K USD Client Revenue Generated In 6 Months | LinkedIn Growth Strategist & Ghostwriter |

3mo

Well, Matt McCoy, I don't disagree. Today, creators have already created future buyers before even launching anything. They have a loyal fan base who trusts them, just like I do for Alex Hormozi I've read all his books and am eagerly awaiting the next one.

Adebimpe Jolaoso, MBA

High Performance Business Consultant & Coach| Helping Founders & Teams Drive Business Success With Growth Hacking Strategies| Revenue & Profit Maximization Enthusiast| Business Developer

3mo

Without demand for your service. It would become irrelevant. Understand what the market is lacking. And provide a solution.

Allison Ditmer

Content Strategist & Writer | Subscribe to The Organic Freelancer Newsletter for actionable content tips 👌

3mo

Justin Welsh was talking about that the other day, Matt... To create a landing page to see if there's demand before spending time and money building an offering. I think it may be smart and curious to experiment.

Chris Cotter

Heart-Centric Leadership | Helping You Build Successful Teams

3mo

Start with proof of concept by talking with prospective clients, as opposed to building something without having done the right research. When prospective clients have demonstrated the validity of your idea, then move forward, Matt McCoy.

Jennifer Donner

Need to Hire? Let's Connect┃Tech Recruiter from Analyst to Executive Levels┃Financial Services & Capital Markets┃Six Star Marathoner

3mo

Starting with the problem is gold.

Tom Clement, Ph.D.

I help GenX entrepreneurs find their 100%LIFE through leadership, systems, time management, and business model strategy. Entrepreneur Coach | GenX Advocate | Strategist | Author | Entrepreneur | DM for 1:1 Coaching

3mo

Find customers... And then find out how you can help them. Those are the only products that matter.

Ben Wise

Head of Programmatic Media at Google | Board Director | Startup Advisor | Speaker

3mo

Start with the customer. Everything else should flow from there.

Carina Belmonte

I help you leverage the power of your story to build trust and authority in your brand and business. (For Solopreneurs and Founders)

3mo

I would say 3 Build your brand to build trust in your experience and get the customer. Great question Matt McCoy 🎙️

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics