Matt McCoy 🎥’s Post

View profile for Matt McCoy 🎥, graphic

Get a video for $30 before July 30 😎 → I help you build a top 1% LinkedIn brand in 1 hour/month 🏆 (Scroll down to learn how!) ⬇️

I used to show up to sales meetings with fancy PowerPoint presentations. But people brushed me off. I tried asking all the classic sales questions. But people kept brushing me off. I tried acting really professional and wearing nice clothes. And... you guessed it... people brushed me off. So I tried a new approach. Today, I treat everyone like a friend - whether they're a manager at a small business, or a CEO at a large company. It turns out, execs just want to be treated like normal human beings, not like they're some big shot. So now when I show up for sales meetings, I ask them some genuine questions and then I talk about my idea. If it's not a fit, that's okay - I have a relationship for the future. So now my strategy is really just to be an authentic human, authentically myself, and see if there's ways I can add value. How has your approach to sales changed over time? _______ Hey! I host the 60 Second Podcast, where I ask 1 question to our favorite leaders. Recent guests include CIO of NASA and President of General Motors. Follow me for some awesome stories.

Matt McCoy 🎥

Get a video for $30 before July 30 😎 → I help you build a top 1% LinkedIn brand in 1 hour/month 🏆 (Scroll down to learn how!) ⬇️

3mo

What is your most underrated sales tip?

Like
Reply
Michele Sands

* Empowering Women to unleash their potential, ignite their confidence & design their ideal career

3mo

Thanks Matt, I like your friend approach and I tend to use that quite a bit too. I've had a few defining moments throughout my career that helped me see when I was being to pushy for the individual. I love helping and being of service to others and know it's about truly being of service and not landing the 'sale'. We are all the same all wanting to feel valued and of service.

Wayne Levin

President & CEO at Predictum Inc. Engineering & business analytical systems, CoBaseKRM: Knowledge Relationship Management.

3mo

Very true - and I'd say I wish I saw the same thing when candidates apply and interview for work. Stop the platitudes, tell me about yourself, ask questions and help me understand why, if you still think so after the questions, you think you're a good fit.

Adebimpe Jolaoso, MBA

High Performance Business Consultant & Coach| Helping Founders & Teams Drive Business Success With Growth Hacking Strategies| Revenue & Profit Maximization Enthusiast| Business Developer

3mo

When people that feel that human connection. They would be more than happy to listen to you

Marty Wallwood

Taking a solopreneur business to $100K/YEAR while sharing lessons everyone can learn from. Partner helping businesses build their websites.

3mo

You made such a good point here - asking genuine questions can make a difference!

Anna York

SEO meets AI | 10x Your Brand's Success with Proven Tactics 📈 | Follow ➡️ for actionable How-to guides!

3mo

That are great tips. I also ask myself, what is good for my customer. Matt McCoy 🎙️

Marko Dinic

CEO @ Jatheon | Why not archive all your information forever? 👋

3mo

Good lesson, Matt 👌

Meghan Mitchell

I Help You Retire Comfortably and Manage Your Cash Flow in Any Season | Main Street's Money Mentor | Connect or Follow Me to Build a Fun and Positive Network

3mo

And you do it fantastically well!

Kirti Kumar-Patil

Founder and CEO of Team Smartual (Since 2021) | Virtual Assistance Extraordinaire | Over 25 Coaches Served, 10-Month Average Retention | Passionate about Empowering Coaches and Soloprenuers Globally |

3mo

This is such a refreshing approach Matt McCoy 🎙️! Treating everyone as a friend not only humanises the sales process but likely opens more doors by building genuine relationships.

It sounds so simple Matt but definitely not easy. Takes a lot of practice to eventually tap into our own authentic selves. You are going to get so much better and better with time.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics