LinkedIn News’ Post

View organization page for LinkedIn News, graphic

15,880,275 followers

What motivates you to work? It’s different for everyone. “Passion shouldn’t be the standard to which everyone is held when we’re asking what they do for their job, and expecting a good answer, says Erin A. Cech, Associate Professor of Sociology at the University of Michigan. “People have a lot of different motivations for why they work hard.” The better question to ask yourself, Cech says, is: “What’s the relationship to paid employment I want to have?” What’s yours? Let us know in the comments. Listen to the full episode of the #EverydayBetter podcast w/ Leah Smart: Apple: https://lnkd.in/gJjyhqmP Spotify: https://lnkd.in/gt3ZsSXE

Monica Trombley, Esq.

15+ Year NYC Based Attorney Who Wants to Work as General or In-House Counsel in Entertainment Company or Creative Startup

2w

I think you should at least not feel suicidal when you think about your job. Being only about the money is also not good since some people are just abused and demoralized in the name of it. Countless people dealt with things like sexual harassment and being a prisoner of some job and those aren't things anyone should be striving for. If you feel like what you do matters and find at least some joy in your work, I'd say you're doing pretty good.

The idea that Anyone goes to work for any other reason than to Not Starve and Be homeless is absolutely crazy to me. Working is by far the absolute worst part of being alive, it never gets better, Crushes your soul every day and yet you keep doing it so you can barely survive. Having a Job is the biggest joke that humanity has ever fallen for

Anthony Pape

Performance Manager at vAuto

2w

Very telling comments here. I would say anyone that goes to work just to survive, and or hates what they do is a sucker. And you have been tricked. You’ve been cheated out of everything. You missed out on your own life. Looking for that golden goodie that’s right around the corner just out of reach. Retirement. Be careful what you wish for. It’s the school system really. Why not have a few classes on this thing, let’s call it LIFE. Something that explores, well what do you like to do. Do you have any passions? What are the careers out there? Where can you do what you like or love? Can they bring people in to talk about what they do, what they like about it, what they don’t, how do you prepare to best be in that line of work? But also what about relationships, what about credit card debt, personal finance, nutrition, exercise. I’m all about learning about the civil war, how a cell in your body works, calculus. But you won’t use those things. I just wish they mixed a little of that in. All the way through college, masters, PHD.

Robert S.

Born Again Academic Not Armchair Revolutionary

2w

Since the 2012, Dr. Cech has investigated the recruitment of people from historically marginalized groups (POC, women LGBTQ+, gender minoritie) and how workplace culture perpetuates various inequities. In the early 1970s, I conducted stratification research in support of economics professor's paper on job discrimination against working class women in Mexico, and urban history professor's study of the socioeconomic mobility of segment of Black American community. At first Asian Pacific American Federal Career Advancement Summit, which took place in Washington, DC in May 2001, I gave sociolegal lecture "Overview of the Federal Workforce: Addressing Common Issues and Possible Barriers Facing Asians and Pacific Islanders." As UFW organizer from 1970 to 1973, I aligned middle class students in support of working class movement to increase the wages, improve working conditions, and empower agricultural laborers in organizing boycotts, and securing bargaining agreements in New York City. As ACLU of Northern Virginia board member, I persuaded Arlington County government to extend antidiscrimination protections to gays and lesbians in 1989, 30 years before rights were granted statewide.

Alex Babinin

Tier 1 IT Support at Lionbridge Technologies

2w

I feel the need to be as blunt as possible here: Just because you like something, that doesn't put food on the table. When I was fresh out of college, everyone was gung-ho about "working where you want to work, enjoying what you do". Yep, at the expense of paying bills. I think it's good to see that this popular misconception is finally getting debunked.

Malcolm Rahmeen

Earning the change I want to see

2w

Speak your truth. If the "I am passionate about serving xyz, llc." is not what gets you out of bed, but say providing financial stabilty for you, your disabled spouse and two autistic grandchildren is, atleast you can walk away with a sense of authenticity that others do not, and if an employer does not honor those values than they do not deserve you anyway and you would be doing your family a disservice working for them, then you would be a sucker.

Like
Reply
Richard Alveran

Audio Visual Professional, Video Conferencing, Collaboration, Project Management, Event Production

2w

There are a lot of reasons that I liked my job. I liked being the person who solved most AV issues on the spot, especially for our big guests. I enjoyed being the sigh of relief, when I was present to set up a meeting. I enjoyed working with my team, and feeling there was not much we could not handle, and I enjoyed working with great people, who valued my input.

oscar Ramirez

America's Senior Sourcing Leader at Baker Hughes

2w

I just had this conversation. This a great topic. As an employee my motivation has always been driven by others success. If I can help someone accomplish the impossible. That’s what motivates me. Promotion of others. Watching the team the grow. Helping others motivates me.

Andrés Rieloff

Independent Music Professional

2w

I just think, that Terrestrials in general are really lost! Including these different-so called- professionals, giving-actually- bombarding! you with all of this soooo not real programmed advice. Advices! More like it. All over the place!!! My advice: DANCE, SUPPORT TRUE ART AND EDUCATION. But above all: LIVE LIFE!!!!!! And never ever! Lose that/ your smile!!!!!!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics