Foundation Communities’ Post

View organization page for Foundation Communities, graphic

7,486 followers

When Sharon Jarvis moved into our Spring Terrace Apartments, she was struggling with the recent deaths of her husband and son. A hurricane had also done significant damage to her home. She says it was the gardening program at Spring Terrace that helped her break out of her depression, as well as having plenty of people to talk to. She admits to being a "yacker."

  • No alternative text description for this image
Michael McKee, MBA

Impactful Leader | Engaging and Motivating Teams, Organizations, and Communities | To reach their highest potential

4w

When I first moved to Austin I lost my job, my apartment flooded three times, got in a car wreck, had no friends in Austin, and my car got hit by a deer twice. I was depressed at the time. I found purpose and community through gardening. In 2010 I started a non-profit community garden program called Grow Together one of the first 10 gardens we started was at Foundation Communities Spring Terrace in 2012! Fast forward 12 years and I am unemployed laid off and looking up jobs on LinkedIn and saw this post!!!! I thank God because this post encouraged me and I am so happy Sharon is liking her plot!!! I was encouraged to get out and water my garden plot today and be in community with my fellow community gardeners!!

Ashlee Lucas

Director of Facilities

4w

Glad to see Ms. Jarvis is doing well @springterrace

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics