Evan Shapīro’s Post

What’s NOT in Your Wallet? Like many, I used to be obsessed with having THE COOLEST business card at ANY party. When I ran IFC, I had a translucent card that looked like film. When I started ESHAP I made business cards that looked and felt just like Bicycle playing cards. I prided myself on the stir these cards made when I presented them - always a reliable ice breaker and brand builder. But times change. The smart change with them. Now I have a QR code on my iPhone Home Screen that links out to all my info. It’s free. It works. I can change the info at no cost anytime. And it creates even more chatter than the physical cards that cost money. A pro-tip for the portfolio lifestyle. #businesscards

  • No alternative text description for this image
Lauren Flick

Content Creator | Writer | Producer | ex-CNBC | ex-AMC | ex-A&E

2w

Did you create this through a specific app or on your own? Looks great!

Michael Blum

Owner Pipsqueak Animation, Founder Our Next 4 Years, Director/Producer/Writer, Co-Chair PGA Animation Committee, (Let Us Animate Your Project!)

2w

Has Blinq gotten better, Evan? I set up a QR code with them a couple of years ago but it seemed liked people had a hard time figuring out how to download the info to an actual contact -- not an entry in the Blinq app.

Rob Pereyda

Founder at Henshin, a management consultancy dedicated to Japanese anime, manga & video games | ex-Crunchyroll first business hire | ex-Netflix Head of Anime | U.S.-Japan Council | Producers Guild of America

2w

Good for the West, but you definitely need paper cards for Japan. So I use them in Japan and all my anime-related business outside Japan, but seldom use them in Hollywood or New York if it’s not related to the industry. Latest batch I did on Japanese washi paper and they’ve been a hit!

Dodie Jacobi

Develops and Advises Media & Entertainment IP

2w

I printed 24 square, chic moo printed business cards in 2021. I still have 23 of them.

Ocean MacAdams

Media executive, producer, content strategist

2w

  • No alternative text description for this image
William M.

Technology wrangler, autodidact, question asker.

2w

If I get a business card, it goes into my wallet until I get back to my office and then it goes into my collection that I reference when I need to contact someone about something. If someone I've never met before shows me their phone with a QR code to scan, I most likely wouldn't do it. I have no way to verify that the QR code showing on the phone of legitimate or contains a phishing link.

Like
Reply
Ian Nock

Managing Consultant / Leading virtual consultancy in Media Technology, Strategy, Products and Services

2w

The only issue with QR codes is that some people in certain companies have been forbidden from scanning QR codes on their work mobiles due to the prevalence of bad links... otherwise all good.

Deb Savo

Two-time Emmy Award winning creative executive. Premium Content Creator. Live Events. Skilled Manager. Storyteller. Leader.

2w

You... always with the good ideas. Love this! Thanks!!! Creating one now.

Yup, I've had QR code for 2+ years. What surprises me is that at trade shows they still want to 'scan your badge' when you visit a stand.

Like
Reply
Adam Levinter

Founder, CEO | Published Author | Podcast Host | I help seasoned founders and executives unlock recurring revenue with subscription businesses.

2w

Went to Sub Summit this year with a QR code. Felt like I did in high school after I bought a Palm pilot 😉

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics