Dan Rayburn’s Post

View profile for Dan Rayburn, graphic

Streaming Media Expert: Industry Analyst, Writer and Consultant. Chairman of the NAB Show Streaming Summit (dan@danrayburn.com)

During my call with Verizon today, an employee made a deceptive claim that is all too common. The account person insisted that a 300Mbps connection would not suffice for streaming in my home, and I would need their 1Gbps speed. He warned of a "quality" problem with streaming at such a low speed, a claim he purportedly "sees every day" with customers without a 1Gbps plan. This misleading sales tactic by Verizon, which I have documented since 2015, is a clear example of deceptive practices that should be illegal. See: https://lnkd.in/eaXHWSJQ Non-tech people and older individuals would likely upgrade when they hear this pitch, even though it is 100% false. June data for Netflix's ISP Speed Index, their monthly update on which ISP provides the best prime-time Netflix streaming experience, shows Netflix streaming averaging 3Mbps on Verizon. For my testing of Super Bowl streaming and other live events, it’s not uncommon for me to have ten streams going simultaneously without any ISP issues. No matter when you call Verizon or use the website, the technical problems always continue. During the call, the rep told me that they couldn't access my account due to a "system problem," which is the same thing I was told last week when I called in. When I tried to access my account online, I got an error page saying, "That page has been moved," with a link back to the home page. Today's call wait time said it would be 7 minutes, but it was 23 minutes. I got a recording after I put in my zip code saying that a storm is due in my area in the next 24 hours that could disrupt service, and it’s best to charge all my devices, even though the weather for my area shows party sunny for the next three days. I called Verizon because my triple play bill went up, saying I was no longer on a contract with Verizon, even though contracts are no longer offered. Verizon’s account person simply told me my bill had gone up since my contract expired three years ago. In reality, the price went up because Verizon raised the price of their TV plan and RSN costs, nothing to do with a contract. This type of poor customer service by Verizon is precisely why consumers don’t like nor trust ISPs. Bait and switch tactics aren't the way to win or keep customers. Last quarter, Verizon Fios lost 280,000 pay TV subs to fall to 2.88 million and gained 53,000 Fios internet subscribers. I need the pay TV service to track things in the industry regarding latency, apps, and set-top box functions, and I am stuck with Verizon. When I tried moving to Optimum they installed the service only to take it out a few days later after they couldn't get the TV service to work and said it should never have been sold in my area, to begin with, due to "technical problems" they are working to resolve. It's no wonder all the ISPs keep telling Wall Street they are working to "improve our operations and financial performance."

  • No alternative text description for this image
David Giles

Consumer Insights & Analytics | Brand Strategy & Content Development | OTT | Media Research & Measurement | Data Storytelling | ex-head Insights Viacom Music nets & NBCu Entertainment nets

3w

They sold me on it being fiberoptic too, and of course it wasn’t in my NYC apartment. I was sick of Spectrum so I decided to give Verizon a try, it’s arguably worse. The birdsnest of coaxial cables outside my apartment make it an issue either way, and the old walls with undoubtably lead paint are going limit me matter how many extenders I have. However the big issue was Verizon has no smart TV spp - you have to buy a firestick just find the Fios TV app. Then the DVR does not work remotely at all, at least w. spectrum I could set things to record when I was outside my house. The big issue with any of them of course is the “cannot stream outside your home network” jail which is nothing but rocketfuel for Netflix and other streaming disruptors. Clearly its a relic from their legacy region-fencing…. old bundles are all content/select geography, and now streaming is select content/all geography. Is that really better for the consumer ultimately?

Like
Reply
Ben Mesander

Director of Application Engineering

1w

I'm fortunate to have municipal internet. I get 1Gbps symmetrical - far more than I need for streaming - for $50/mo. When I call in, I get decent technical support too. It's time to treat internet as a utility. It took many years and overcoming legal challenges from commercial ISPs such as Comcast and CenturyLink, but it was worth it. I think this is the future of broadband. https://communitynets.org/content/longmonts-nextlight-wins-top-spot-pc-magazines-readers-choice-award

Chris Mangum

Streaming media engineer with over 2 decades of building & problem solving experience

2w

I live in the rural country with only 20mbps down, wife, 2 kids & a yellow lab that likes to stream Paw Patrol & have zero issues with everyone watching at the same time. Gigabit bandwidth at home is a marketing ploy. It’s nice to have it & not need it vs need it & not have it…….but at what cost? Anything over 50mbps at $50-60 is eye wash

Although I don’t stream 4K video, the funny thing is my 30Mbps DSL connection does just fine with multiple users. If Verizon were to give me this bull I’d make the rep do bandwidth calculations.

Gary Engel

Chief Marketing Officer @ FreeCast Inc | Television Marketing | FAST | AVOD | SVOD | B2B | DTC | Streaming | Ad Sales |

1w

I've had Fios for more than 15 years. Haven't had the issues you are having. The lack of using the app outside the home is infuriating. Why would I need the app IN my home, I already have the boxes. The inability to access programming that I am paying for while traveling is a huge problem. And as you say, customer service is pretty useless as when I spoke with several, they said all I need to do is install the app and I can use it anywhere.

Like
Reply
Hector Leano

AI, data, and SaaS Marketing Executive | ex-AWS | ex-Databricks

2w

My issue is that the speed I sign up for is nowhere near the speed actually delivered. I’ve paid for anywhere from 300mbps to 1gbps and while it provides a short term boost, quickly I clock in speeds at 5-10mbps. Have tried switching hardware and providers. Really hoping for 5G to really accelerate providing high speed broadband to get real competition in the home connectivity space.

Like
Reply
Sunil George

Regional Sales @ GlobalDots

3w

This kind of behavior is an all-too-common ploy in the industry, preying on consumers’ lack of technical knowledge.

Like
Reply
Ragna Ghoreishi

Enabling you to scale Customer Success | Bottomline growth & retention by being a valuable partner for your customers | Build with you your customers´ most ❤️ ed brand | SaaS B2B | Scaleup heart & corporate foundation

3w

Oh dear 🙈. This is a "wonderful, real-life" example -as you state Dan Rayburn - how important and experience essential customer support is and how it can easily turn a great product into an unpleasant experience with impact on retention and overall reputation. It for sure has the power to make your Brand a most loved or most hated Brand.

I, too, am stuck in the ISP hell between Optimum whom I use now, and Verizon, whom I’ve thought abput switching to due to Optimums high cost and terrible customer service.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics