Branden Robinson’s Post

View profile for Branden Robinson, graphic

BEFAST4️⃣5️⃣ 🧠🚑

At Sevaro we are built different, I'm grateful for the leadership that Rajiv Narula, MD provides. Lauren Voltz Anne Lowry Quinn Patrick Sherman

View profile for Rajiv Narula, MD, graphic

Chief Medical Officer, Sevaro Health | We’re Hiring!

Back in India in 1987, my father was an aeronautical engineer and business owner. Then, he brought our family to the United States on November 11th. At a stall in East Brunswick Square Mall, he sold watches. And I’d come and help him as a kid after school. This is a long time ago - frame of reference - girls were buying New Kids on the Block watches (Rebecca Mallon, MBA, HCM, BSN, RN, SCRN). There was a time when he also brought newspapers to people’s doors to help us get by. He and my mom turned down invitations to social gatherings, parties, and birthdays, and gave up their own desires. He felt no shame going from a business owner in India to selling newspapers door to door when he came to this country. My mom worked at a store called “Woolworth” and then “Caldor” (the equivalent of K-mart/Walmart). Their work ethic was incredible. I saw how they took a difficult situation and through years of hard work, eventually my father built his own successful businesses. While building Sevaro from the ground up, the team and I endured plenty of challenging moments where we thought of giving up. We questioned if it would be worth it. We missed out on friends birthdays, anniversaries, family gatherings, vacations and worked on holidays. Everyone asked why we worked so hard. But I kept reminding myself about what my father had sacrificed 35+ years ago. “If he was able to put everything aside, and miss out on social events why should I feel discouraged or have a fear of missing out? I grew up in this country as a second-generation Indian and have a foundation he did not have and opportunities he never had” I kept moving. I had the support of my team to keep our eyes fixated on the goal. Some of them were (in no particular order) Ruchir, Becky, Branden, Schain, Mike, and Neeraj. Odds were always stacked against us. The odds are still stacked against us as we are a small company. But when you have a group of incredibly talented human beings with unwavering grit, passionate about serving others, for some reason, I believe, the odds will start shifting in our favor.

  • No alternative text description for this image
Rajiv Narula, MD

Chief Medical Officer, Sevaro Health | We’re Hiring!

1mo

The trust goes both ways. Still learn so much from you and the team B.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics