Boy Scouts of America’s Post

View organization page for Boy Scouts of America, graphic

73,850 followers

Today in Fortune, Scouting America Chief Scout Executive, President & CEO Roger Krone shared his thoughts on the organization's rebrand, its continuing commitment to the unchanging ideals of the Scout Oath and Scout Law, and its goal of inviting every youth and family in America to experience the benefits of Scouting. https://lnkd.in/gh9uACU9

Scouting America CEO: Our name change was long overdue—and today’s divisions prove the role we have to play is more important than ever

Scouting America CEO: Our name change was long overdue—and today’s divisions prove the role we have to play is more important than ever

fortune.com

Chris Hargis

Biology Laboratory Supervisor | Ecologist On A Mission to Preserve Our Planet's Biodiversity & Inspire Environmental Stewardship

2mo

I am an Eagle Scout and former Scouting professional. My brother is an Eagle Scout as well. My son has been aiming for Eagle since cubs and is well on his way as a First Class Scout. I'm proud of the organization that Scouting America is becoming and thrilled that so many who would have never had those same opportunities are getting that chance today. Those who have earned the rank are well deserving of that honor no matter their sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or religious beliefs. On that note, the organization still has much room to grow, and I fully support that growth and inclusiveness. The way some of you are behaving is as if you're children in the "He-Man Woman Haters Club". Grow up. Times are changing. Open your mind and be willing to change with the times or be left behind. I will ALWAYS be proud to stand by Scouting America as an Eagle Scout, former Scouting professional, and a proud volunteer. The Boy Scouts of America is not dead, it just found its true identity. THANK YOU for being a friend to all.

Jeffrey Mayer

Back with another world class operation

2mo

In 2010 my son became an Eagle Scout, I was involved with scouts from his beginning, we enjoyed the journey. Infact there were 10 young men that became Eagle Scouts, which started scouting together and I am as proud of their accomplishment. But five years ago when the Boy Scouts starts accepting girls into this once organization I stopped all support. The young girls have/had an organization that mimicked the Boy Scouts, what happened to them? I don't agree with the all inclusive theory, as you loose what gives everyone individuality. This is just my opinion, but be ware you will face people that identify as the alphabet or some animal, then what will you do then reorganize again as a division of the Humane Society.

Dana Mitchell

Manager Utility Service Operations City of Garland

1mo

I am an Eagle Scout from 1981 and am VERY disappointed in the handling of this organization and the changes taking place… Boy Scouts of America was founded on the teaching of fundamental skills to boys. The Girl Scouts of America has a similar goal for girls. If the girls want to experience more of the outdoor skills and such then they should pressure the Girl Scouts to redevelop their program to help accommodate the needs NOT force the Boy Scouts to allow girls in. Not trying to be disrespectful to either group but there is some misalignment going on and it is not healthy for either sexes.

JD Hensel

Wells Fargo - Senior Information Security Engineer

2mo

What is being missed out on here are the effects on boys. Girls, and women, are somewhat a mystery to males. Every part of my life was co-ed except scouting. I appreciated that. I appreciated the lack of distraction. I appreciated being able to go somewhere and forget about how females thought of me. 1 female around and boys WILL act differently towards them and to each other. Part of the joy was removing sexuality from the social interaction. Boys do dumb things to impress girls. Why is creating a boy safe space a bad thing? I have never agreed with a Girl Scouts that did not offer the same opportunities. Other countries may mix troops but they also have more liberal views on sex. I very much enjoyed the fact I could be me. I could explore being a goof without the added teenage hormone distraction. I'm not even going to go in to just how watered down the merit badges have become. Same badges, 35 years later have 1/4 the requirements. Our achievements have already been whitewashed away. I was proud of my achievement because it was hard.

Lindsey Partlow Smith

Terracon - Texas Transportation Team | iWIL | Prism | LEAP | Class of 2023 Emerging Leader ▪️ Volunteering - Scouting America | ASHE | PFLAG

2mo

I think it’s a fantastic change for the better. Scouting is supposed to be a safe place for all kids to learn, grow, and develop a multitude of skills. Worldwide, scouting has dominantly been co-ed. The United States was one of the few that were “only boys.” The new name ensures that scouting reflects an all inclusive program, where any and all genders are welcome. If a simple name change makes even just one child feel safer and feel like they have a place where they belong, I think that change is worth it. Every child should feel represented in the brand. Scouting America is just the right move to make. It doesn’t erase the legacy or the history of the Boy Scouts. It just expands that legacy to reach more children through proper branding. I empathize with those that feel this change isn’t ideal. Change can be scary. Change can be disruptive. Change can be hard to cope with. But having a positive attitude is key to progress through change. Do Your Best! Be the leader that years of scouting instilled into the core of the program. Be the inspiration to young boys and girls that want to be like all the Eagle Scouts that came before them! We are better together! ❤️

Steve Shark

Engaged Volunteer, etc

2mo

The recently announced name change simply confirms the changes made in recent years and should make it less confusing for families looking at Scouting. I am an Eagle Scout and have served as a Scouting volunteer my entire adult life. As you see in the comments here, not everybody is delighted with the membership/name change(s). As for my own experience, I heard many Scouting families with girls who wished they could join. And experience the leadership opportunities, phenomenal council camps and High Adventure bases that their brothers did. Now they have that opportunity. Troops/Chartered Partners can choose to be boy or girl units. Also, Cub packs can have mixed units- which is a likely scenario in smaller communities. Scouting's youth protection policies are in place to make sure the program remains a safe place and space. It's fun to see all youth enjoying our program and facilities! A couple of years ago the Order of the Arrow youth here elected our first young woman as Lodge Chief, and she did an outstanding job! What hasn't changed is the program's backbone which is the Scout Law and Oath. In today's divided world, we can certainly use more Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, etc, folks in our communities!

Nicholas Humerian

Electrical Maintenance and Engineering at Massport

2mo

I was a former Boy Scout current Eagle Scout, and think what this organization has recently allowed to happen is a disgrace. It saddens me to say it’s made me think of removing Eagle Scout off my resume. “Boy Scouts” are no longer Boy Scouts.

Pete Potsos

Senior Director, Accounting Partnerships, Settle

2mo

I have been a Scouter for 20 years and on one of our first campouts our Troop went to a Camporee in Woodstock, Ontario. This event was run by Scouts Canada. The name intrigued me when I saw one of their shoulder patches. Then I noticed there were female Scouts on the campout too! How cool was that! If you take a look at the list of the World Organization of Scout Movement members, you will notice that word “Boy” is noticeably absent from all but 8 of 174 national organizations governed by the World Organization of the Scout Movement. Take a look at the list yourself and then try to understand why it took so long! https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_World_Organization_of_the_Scout_Movement_members

Travis Mulligan

Associate Broker @ Charles Schwab | Securities Industry Essentials, Series 7 & 63

2mo

As an Eagle Scout, the changes of the past ten years are a disgrace to the legacy and ideals laid out by our founder. Some serious reconsideration is needed.

Ryan Hagerman

Senior Fellow at Presidential Public Service Fellowship

2mo

Years ago, I had a number of discussions with Scouts from around the country about the goals of inclusivity in our programs. I learned that we were among only a few nations in the world which segregated Scouts by gender, a list that included countries that we would not want ourselves compared with. I am prouder than ever to be an Eagle Scout, to be supporting Scouting programs in my community, and to be living the Scout Oath and Law every day. Our values are the common values of many organizations striving to create better people for the world, and I hope my fellow Scouts and Scouters can find a way to understand the benefits of these changes for all youth across America.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics