Dec 30, 2021
So, I've been playing Resident Evil games now, since 1999. Personally, I started with RE2, and that's the game that basically made me fall in love with survival horror as a genre. Used to play each game religiously, and even some of the spin offs. But after 2006, I found myself just not liking the genre much anymore. Especially when legends like Shinji Mikami and Team Silent buggered off, for what may or may not have been their own personal choice. At least the genre was in a bit of a pickle until the mid-2010s, when it noticeably rejuvenated. Then... I don't know. But through it all, I cannot say it's dead, as people still like these games, so it's not "dead" in that sense. But the story in the franchise since Albert Wesker died!? Oh, man...

Anyway... I never really did take to the idea that some douche can just turn up in so many random places, and sell you items. To me, that kind of wrecked RE, because in the original game, and the amazing 2002 remake, you were mostly exploring the environment by yourself, trying to scavenge all you could find. Now RE games just aren't very scary as they are often deliberately just shoot and loot adventures, and they seem too quiet. The music was always effective in games like RE3, CVX, and especially, RE2. That made them more and more memorable, along with the characters, and the various bioweapons you encountered.

But you can tell that when RE4 came out, they just wanted to copy trends. I'm not saying that RE4 is objectively bad. A lot of people know it got Game of the Year back in 2005 upon its initial release, and so many accolades were presented. Looking back on it now, though, was it really typically like RE at all?

It's a shame how RE0 up to CV had a similar premise about people hating Umbrella, and this was leading up to something, like likely a big war.

A-A-A-A-A-N-D...