On The Radar: 20 Unsung Summer Game Fest Indies

Indies were dropping hot and heavy last week during Summer Game Fest. And while some got their due respect, some killer games didn’t get nearly enough love. I’ve collected a list below of games that everyone needs to get on their wishlists.

Happy Bastards

Send other fools off to their death and reap the fame in this over-the-top title inspired by games like Darkest Dungeon and Into the Breach.

Wanderstop

What’s really lying beneath the surface of this ostensibly cozy game about serving tea? Our protagonist isn’t the typical retired adventurer and is looking for a way to put the shop behind her.

Tears of Metal

Y’all don’t understand how I popped off for this gaming during the Summer Game Fest’s Showcase. And it seemed like I was one of a few, which baffles me. It’s time to fight for Scotland.

Grave Seasons

Okay, I can give people a little grace for not keeping this one in mind. It was just one of Blumhouse Games’ newly announced slate of fantastic horror offerings. But with a little cozy mixed in the the scares, it won me over.

Sandara: City of a Thousand Eclipses

A narrative card-building experience, I get a lot of Citizen Sleeper vibes from this hand-drawn beauty. It’s got a closed beta running right now for anyone interested in signing up.

Hermit and Pig

I just need way more Hermit and Pig love out there.

Parcel Corps

I managed to miss my opportunity to go hands-on with this bike messenger simulator at Play Days, but fellow member of The Indie Council, Janet Garcia, was eager to sing its praises.

Unbeatable

Look at this game! How are more people not talking about it? If the look doesn’t catch you, here’s the opening if its Steam description: “UNBEATABLE is a rhythm adventure where music is illegal and you do crimes.”

Hotel Galactic

A hotel management game inspired heavily by Studio Ghibli injected with a little sci-fi is one heck of a pitch.

Worship

I’ve had my eye on Worship’s distinctive and bold visuals for some time now. So, it’s awesome to see the game pop up during the summer festivities.

Fallen Aces

I absolutely highlighted this on the most recent episode of the Indie Council, but it deserves another shout-out. Especially since its just released in Early Access.

All Systems Dance

Mighty Yell Studios, the team behind The Big Con, is teaming up with Strange Scaffold to create its next game and I almost don’t need to hear more to be on board. But the words “Dance Battle Adventure” are also music to my ears.

I Am Your Beast

Speaking of Strange Scaffold — wow. I am shouting this upcoming release’s accolades from the rooftops. Its fast, fun, and hard to put down. You don’t even have to take my word for it because the demo will win you over.

Tenjutsu

Devolver Digital’s showcase this year was both short and wild. It’s worth a watch all on its own for the meta-story, but this eye-catching action RPG deserves some special attention.

Possessor(s)

I’m never going to be able to spell it correctly, but this second stunner from Devolver is the grand reveal of Heart Machine’s newest project — even newer than Hyper Light Breaker, which also made a splash last week.

Little Problems: A Cozy Detective Game

Publisher Playstack doesn’t get enough love in general, but the team is on one heck of a hot streak with games like Balatro and The Rise of the Golden Idol. This detective title is a little more on the cozy side.

Light Odyssey

The devs quick to throw the Shadow of the Colossus inspiration out there. So, I’m looking forward to seeing what they do with that formula when the game launches later this year.

Petal Runner

I know there are a few entries here that focus on the games’ incredible visuals, but seriously, can you blame me? Petal Runner’s bewitching pastel palette is working its charm on me.

Cozy Grove: Spirit Camp

Occasionally, I have the incredible luck to meet the passionate developers behind great titles and the encounter makes me look forward to a game even more. A blend of creepy, cozy, and care, don’t let the next entry in the Cozy Grove series pass you by.

Winter Burrow

Luckily, I got to gush about this game with IGN’s amazingly talented Rebekah Valentine after after its unexpected appearance in the Xbox showcase. So, I suspect the snuggly survival game’s going to get many more eyes on it before the 2025 launch.

One response to “On The Radar: 20 Unsung Summer Game Fest Indies”

  1. […] is some of Jill’s Summer Game Fest coverage you can spend some quality time with right now:On The Radar: 20 Unsung Summer Game Fest IndiesFlintlock: The Siege of Dawn PreviewThe Indie Council: Live At Summer Game FestBy the way, if you […]

Leave a Reply

Discover more from The Indie Informer

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading