Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
replaced http://stackoverflow.com/ with https://stackoverflow.com/
Source Link
URL Rewriter Bot
URL Rewriter Bot

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl+C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScriptHow to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl+C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl+C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Not sure why DVK messed up the kbd elements
Source Link
zzzzBov
  • 178.1k
  • 55
  • 326
  • 370

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting <kbd>Ctrl</kbd>-<kbd><kbd>C</kbd>Ctrl+C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting <kbd>Ctrl</kbd>-<kbd><kbd>C</kbd> to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl+C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

deleted 39 characters in body
Source Link
DVK
  • 128.6k
  • 33
  • 216
  • 332

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl-C<kbd>Ctrl</kbd>-<kbd><kbd>C</kbd> to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

P.S: - Javascript ignoramus here.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting Ctrl-C to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

P.S: - Javascript ignoramus here.

I'm trying to write a little bookmarklet that can extract some text from the active page and load that into the clipboard.

The extraction is easy enough, but I'm really stuck doing the clipboard-copying part. Currently, I'm just alerting the text and hitting <kbd>Ctrl</kbd>-<kbd><kbd>C</kbd> to copy the text from the message-box, which isn't ideal.

I've read How to Copy to Clipboard in JavaScript and other questions that suggest I use zeroclipboard, but I have no idea how one would make that work from a bookmarklet, considering I have to load external flash and javascript resources to be able to use the library.

I have no issues with messing up the page's DOM to accomplish this or having to enable some permissions on my browser (Google Chrome), considering this is just a private bookmarklet.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Source Link
Ani
  • 112.9k
  • 27
  • 267
  • 312
Loading