Where are the articles asking why men don't want to have children?


More and more women just don't want children 'Kids are expensive and sticky'

Truly, men have the worse of everything…⸮ But, there's something we blokes can be grateful for. No matter what grief the world throws at us, it'll always be the women's fault that there aren't enough babies! The other day, I saw this headline: The Business Insider article - in the "Economy" section - focussed solely […]

Continue reading →

Bitwarden's new username generator is brilliant


Screenshot of Bitwarden generating a username.

I've been using Bitwarden for years. It generates a unique password for every website I visit. There's only been one small problem - I want a unique username for each website. Let me explain. Sometimes websites sell or leak your email address to spammers. If you're using yourname@example.com for every site, you'll never know who […]

Continue reading →

Semantic Comments for WordPress


The Logo for WordPress.

As regular readers will know, I love adding Semantic things to my blog. The standard WordPress comments HTML isn't very semantic - so I thought I'd change that. Here's some code which you can add to your blog's theme - an an explanation of how it works. The aim is to end up with some […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: Piranesi by Susanna Clarke


Book cover depicting a Satyr playing the pipes.

Well! This is a delight, isn't it? It's almost impossible to describe without giving away the plot. An unreliable narrator, trapped - perhaps - in a labyrinth which may (or may not) be a deeper metaphor for something else. It's confusing - but then, it is a story about confusion. It is magical - without […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 06: Open Source Business Blockchain Frameworks


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →

Theatre Review: Cabaret at the KitKat Club


Logo for a disreputable nightclub.

I'd seen the movie. I'd seen a student production. But nothing could have prepared me for the visceral reality of seeing Cabaret live on stage. It seems that theatre producers have finally realised that audiences want an immersive experience which simply can't be replicated sat at home with NetFlix on. The entrance to the theatre […]

Continue reading →

Success at 2D Printing a Bookcase Mosaic!


A large canvas print of a photo of me and Liz in a top-down car. On closer inspection, the print is made up of lots of smaller prints.

Yesterday, I revealed my disappointment in being unable to print a bookcase. Today I revel in my cleverness at coming up with a solution! I decided to create a photo-mosaic of a nice photo of me and my wife - using all our book covers. The Result Close Up The image was printed on high-quality […]

Continue reading →

Failed attempt at 2D printing a bookcase


A wall spanning bookshelf with giant books.

Yes, you read that right, 2D printing. Not 3D printing. Let me explain my problem... Our bookshelves are bare. A few years ago we made the switch to eBooks - we got rid of all our paper books. We've switched to downloading our games, so no gorgeous box art for us. All our DVD discs […]

Continue reading →

The Inevitability of Connecting Everything


As the global demand for safer cars grew, there was a drive for cheaper and more accurate ways to deploy airbags. Thus, car manufacturers turned to MEMS based accelerometers and gyroscopes. Small, accurate, and fast. With increased production, comes increased manufacturing efficiency. So these sensors also became cheap to purchase for everyone. The street finds […]

Continue reading →

Certified Blockchain Professional - Module 05: Sustainable Blockchain


Logo for the Certified Blockchain Professional.

As previously discussed, I'm doing the Certified Blockchain Professional course. It is self-directed learning, so I'm going through it at my own pace. In order to consolidate my learning, and help organise my thoughts, I'm blogging about my reflections on each module. These are mostly notes to myself - but I hope if you find […]

Continue reading →