How to take solar export readings on the Honeywell AS302P smartmeter


Honeywell Cumulative Export display.

I can't find these instructions anywhere online - so I hope these notes help! The AS302P SMETS2 has two buttons. I've labelled the top button A and the bottom button B. Press the A button once to bring up the menu. The display should light up. It should show "General". Press the B button. This […]

Continue reading →

Google Chat Nearly Got Me Fired


Google documentation saying their apps aren't compatible with each other.

My colleague was understandably ticked off with me. A week previously, they'd asked me to get something fairly urgent done. I hadn't done it - and all hell was breaking loose. I wasn't being truculent or disobedient. I simply hadn't seen their message. And it was all Google's fault. At work, we use Google's G-Suite. […]

Continue reading →

Default Ordering Of Title Options


An extremely long title list which includes Right Honourable, Wing Comander, Dame, etc.

I was signing up to a website the other day, and it wanted to know my title. Here are the options it offered me: Look, I get it. If I'm ever daft enough to undertake a PhD and masochistic enough to complete it - I am going to demand that everyone addresses me as Doctor […]

Continue reading →

Gadget Review - Nooie 360 Security Camera


Nooie camera sat on a table.

The good folk at Nooie have sent me their 360 WiFi camera to review. Cost is usually £50 - but check the bottom of this post for a discount code. The design is gorgeous - and award winning. It's a sleek unit and, surprisingly, feels nice in the hand. It can store videos on an […]

Continue reading →

Things I can't do on MacOS which I can do on Ubuntu


A MacBook running Linux.

I've never "got" the appeal of a Mac. But I have to use one for work. Here's a partial list of everything I cannot do on a Mac, but I can do on Ubuntu. These are all objective facts. These are things which either are impossible, or require adding unsupported 3rd party software - sometimes […]

Continue reading →

How not to use the label element


HTML Source Code.

HTML is magic. It comes with all sorts of great usability and accessibility features. But people often ignore them or misuse them. Take a look at these checkboxen: If you click on this label, nothing happens. If you click on this label, the checkbox will toggle This is important. Tapping on tiny squares is hard […]

Continue reading →

Removing default metadata from .opus files


Binary code displayed on a screen.

I'm trying to create some ridiculously tiny audio files. The sort where every single byte matters. I've encoded a small sample. But the opusenc tool automatically adds metadata - even if you don't specify any. Using the amazing Mutagen Python library I was able to completely strip out all the metadata! import mutagen mutagen.File("example.opus").delete() It […]

Continue reading →

Accessibility of macOS - large cursor hides tooltips


Cursor obscuring tool tip.

Apple's attitude to usability is... complex. The general attitude of "you're holding it wrong" seems to be prevalent across all their products. I like having a large mouse cursor. I find it easier to see on my large monitor, especially when sat at a safe distance. But, if I use a large cursor - I […]

Continue reading →

Dude! I'm getting a (Linux) Dell! Maybe...


Two Dell laptops next to each other.

I need a new laptop. My old one is dying a long, slow death. My requirements are modest - runs Ubuntu and charges via USB-C. Cheap would be a bonus - as would a num-pad - but I'll take what I can get! Loads of people have recommended the Dell XPS13 series. I'm looking at […]

Continue reading →

Happy Birthday to My Mother - The Monster


Carrie Cohen covered in blood.

Mums, eh? One minute they're teaching you how to read and write, the next minute you're teaching them how to video call casting directors during quarantine. You see, my mum is an actress. When people ask "what sort" - I could tell them about the award winning short films she has been in. Or the […]

Continue reading →