Episode 29: The Pod Delusion Strikes Back!


After five long years, The Pod Delusion is back! This is a quick chat with host & producer James O'Malley. You can listen to back-episodes at https://poddelusion.co.uk/blog/ and I thoroughly recommend sticking it in your podcast app.

Continue reading →

The Usability of Unboxing


Home Signal Box.

I review a lot of tech kit. It is amazing just how bad the consumer experience is when you have a brand-new box in your hands. It can be as simple as difficult to open packaging, to the existential horror of a poorly translated manual. The first time a customer holds your product in their […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: Do No Harm - Henry Marsh


A boring book cover.

What is it like to be a brain surgeon? How does it feel to hold someone's life in your hands, to cut through the stuff that creates thought, feeling and reason? How do you live with the consequences when it all goes wrong? Henry Marsh reveals the exhilarating drama of surgery, the chaos and confusion of a busy modern hospital, and above all the need for hope when faced with life's most agonising decisions.

Continue reading →

Book Review - Sherlock Holmes vs Dracula


Sherlock Holmes stands smoking his pipe - a bat flaps in the background.

After a mysterious schooner runs aground in an English harbor with no human passengers -- only the dead captain, drained of blood -- a series of bizarre nocturnal crimes takes place in London. It can only be the work of Count Dracula, and only one man can save the city: the world’s greatest detective, Sherlock Holmes.

Continue reading →

Is LogMeIn leaking email addresses?


Fraud alert warning signs.

Like all security minded people, I use a unique email address for every service I sign up to. This week, I noticed I had started receiving spam to an email address associated with my Join.me account. Join.me is a screen sharing service now owned by LogMeIn. I signed up for a trial of Join.me back […]

Continue reading →