I feel hopeless, rejected, and a burden on society - one week of empathy training


A mouth covered with tape. Taken by Jenniffer Moo.

I've spent a week cosplaying as a disabled user. And I hate it. A couple of months ago, I attended a private talk given by a disabled colleague of mine. "Everyone should believe disabled people's stories about accessibility problems," she said. "But, given that people don't, here's what I want you to do. Spend one […]

Continue reading →

Documentally and Backpack Studio


documentally holding a phone.

If two blokes meet up and don't record a podcast, did it even happen? Social Media Maven Documentally showed off his podcasting rig - an app called Backpack Studio. You can listen to the ramblechat we recorded on his feed. Here's our quick chat about this nifty podcasting app - which I hope will one […]

Continue reading →

Perhaps the meat lobby has a point...?


Some sausage rolls. Their vegan nature is hidden in the small print.

I've been a vegetarian for half my life and I have been blogging about crappy vegetarian labelling for a decade. Usually it's a rant about how a seemingly innocuous dish has hidden bone jelly in it - but today I experience the reverse situation. So, I was in the "veggie snacks" aisle of my local […]

Continue reading →

Book Review: Deep Medicine - Eric Topol


A robot hand holds up an apple.

One of America's top doctors reveals how AI will empower physicians and revolutionize patient care. Medicine has become inhuman, to disastrous effect. The doctor-patient relationship - the heart of medicine - is broken: doctors are too distracted and overwhelmed to truly connect with their patients, and medical errors and misdiagnoses abound. In Deep Medicine, leading physician Eric Topol reveals how artificial intelligence can help. AI has the potential to transform everything doctors do.

Continue reading →

How I got my username on (nearly) every site


An error message on Flickr's edit name screen.

I go by "edent" on most websites. It's short, relates to my real name, and is usually unique. I quite often sign up to things just to snag the name. But there have been a couple of sites where someone else has got there first and started using "my" name. I don't own the trademark, […]

Continue reading →

Tell the audience what you want them to do


24 tweets from people - including photos of the slide.

I do lots of public speaking as part of my job. I'd like to share one of my tips for giving engaging and impactful talks. Two caveats: This is a sort-of work post. In that, I'll be discussing something I did for my employer - but they haven't asked me to write this, nor have […]

Continue reading →

Sending 1.2 Million Tweets


A beautiful blue sky with scattered clouds. Text reads 2586 Watts - 68% battery.

Back in 2014, I set up a rather silly Twitter account - @OxfordSolarLive. The premise was simple. A camera took a photo of the sky above my house. It took a reading from my solar panels to see how much electricity they were generating. It superimposed the reading on the photo. Then posted it on […]

Continue reading →