Things For Which Cryptographic Signing Would Be Useful


Every time someone mentions BlockChain, I have to down my drink. Those are the rules. You see, most uses of Distributed Ledger are really just a way to get people interested in cryptographic signing. There's lots of money and attention flowing to projects which have no need to publish to an energy-inefficient global database. They […]

Continue reading →

Privacy, Security, & Ethics - Computer Science's "Jüdische Physik"


A fist emerges from a computer screen and punches the user.

I'm going to tell you an anecdote which is a gross oversimplification of a complex topic. In the early half of the twentieth century, certain physicists made breakthroughs in relativity, quantum mechanics, and nuclear energy. Many of these scientists were Jewish. The Nazis called these heretical ideas "Jewish Science" and suppressed their teaching. Jewish physicists […]

Continue reading →

Review Evoluent Veritcal Mouse C


Evoluent Mouse Buttons.

Can a mouse ever be worth £100? Yes. Let's get that out of the way. If you spend all day working with your hands, you owe it to yourself to give them the best possible equipment to protect them. For me, that's a vertical mouse with re-mappable buttons to help prevent RSI. Over the last […]

Continue reading →

No More Conference T-Shirts, Please!


A huge pile of old t-shirts, each covered in conference logos.

In an unexpected fit of spring-cleaning, I went through my wardrobe getting rid of all my old conference t-shirts. Hundreds of 'em! They're all covered in logos for companies which long-ago went bust, or for events which are no-longer running, and most have... errr... "shrunk" in the wash. I know I'm a grumpy old sod. […]

Continue reading →

Using the Evoluent VMCR C Series Vertical Mouse with Linux


Mouse with multiple buttons.

This is a quick guide for setting up your new mouse with Ubuntu. I'm a big fan of the Evoluent Mouse range, and I've agreed to publish this Linux guide in return for a review sample. The Basics The only way to configure this mouse is via the command-line. This may look a bit daunting, […]

Continue reading →