This SVG always shows today's date


A graphic of a calendar showing the date "February 25 Sunday"

For my contact page, I wanted a generic calendar icon to let people view my diary. Calendar icons are almost always a skeuomorph of a paper calendar, but I wondered if I could make it slightly more useful by creating a dynamic icon. Here it is, an SVG calendar which always display's today's date: The […]

Continue reading →

A curious way to break Twitter's search results


Screenshot of a tweet. The HTML is malformed.

(This isn't really a security issue, although I've disclosed it to the Twitter team.) "Fuzzing" is a computer science term which means "sending weird data into a program and seeing what happens." It's a useful way to see how your code can break in new and unexpected ways. It's particularly good at showing what a […]

Continue reading →

Advertising Screens Hacked To Mine BitCoin


The display shows a windows desktop with a variety of icons. There is a window open

Spotted in London, yesterday. A large, Microsoft Windows-powered advertising hoarding has been hijacked. It's not uncommon to see broken-down Windows displays - I run https://windowsisbroken.tumblr.com/ - which is dedicated to pointing and laughing at such mistakes. But this is the first time I've seen a display repurposed for profit! It appears to be running NiceHash […]

Continue reading →

Updating all the examples in the HTML5 Spec


A screenshot showing the difference between two text files.

I'm currently helping to edit the HTML5 specification. As part of our preparations for HTML5.3 I've started going through the provided examples and improving them. This blog post explains the what, why, and when of the process. You can follow along on GitHub. (As part of my job, I'm lucky enough to be on the […]

Continue reading →