Whatever happened to URI Schemes?


A few days ago, I ranted about how chat apps have poor support for URI schemes. By "Chat Apps", I'm talking about the new wave of messengers - WhatsApp, WeChat, Telegram, Wire, and the like. What do I mean by "URI Scheme"? You're probably familiar with: https://example.com The "scheme" is https - it tells the […]

Continue reading →

How I built a responsive & semantic "Contact Me" page in under 16KB


A website which looks like a phone homescreen.

Recently, I've become obsessed with the speed and efficiency of my web sites. I'm in the middle of slimming down this blog - but I thought I'd take a first attempt at my contact site - https://edent.tel/ A few weeks ago, the .tel registry released their domain restrictions - users can now host their site […]

Continue reading →

Creating a generic, open source, check-in app


Many years ago, when Foursquare was still cool, I built an app to let people check into chocolate bars. You know, "@edent is eating a Wonka Bar classic. 4/5?" It was a quick and dirty hackday project. Ever since, I've had the hankering to build something a bit more generic. I currently use Untappd to […]

Continue reading →

Building Darth Vader


A huge, life size Darth Vader dominates the room.

Long time readers will know that the happiest day of my life was when I got married. Dressed as Darth Vader. The most expensive thing about our wedding was probably that Vader suit. After nearly 10 years of marital bliss, I got bored at having that gorgeous suit packed away in a box. So I […]

Continue reading →