Inside a Chipolo Plus


Last week I reviewed the Chipolo Plus. It's a small Bluetooth beacon which you can use as an item tracker - attach it to your keys or wallet and know where they are at all times. As I said in the review, the only downside is that it has a non-replaceable battery. I'm not sure […]

Continue reading →

Opera inserts advertising into your bookmarks


I've long been a fan of the Opera Mobile browser. I used it back in my Nokia Symbian and Blackberry days - it was simply the best browser for those limited devices. I've carried on using it on my Android devices due to its superior text handling. Last week I was scrolling through my bookmarks, […]

Continue reading →

An "on this day" plugin for WordPress


Just me scratching my own itch. I want to create an RSS feed of all the blog posts which I'd published on this day in the past. For example, if today is 21st of November 2016 then this plugin will show blog posts written on 2015-11-21 2014-11-21 2013-11-21 And so on. You can view a […]

Continue reading →

Google's AMP is a gilded cage


AMP is Google's attempt to re-fight the transcoding wars of the early 2000s. It is actively dangerous to the web ecosystem, helps disseminate propaganda, and is disliked by many users. If, like me, you made the mistake of trying out AMP on your website - you're in a tricky position if you try to remove […]

Continue reading →

Introducing @FiverFun - silly things on Amazon for under £5


It's nearly Christmas! That means Secret Santa time at work, and the need for little stocking-filler gifts. But where can you find such cheap treats? Aha! I have created a service just for you! https://fiverfun.tumblr.com/ is my new(ish) project. It scours Amazon for the best and/or weirdest things for under a fiver! At the moment […]

Continue reading →

Does Google's Hiring Process Put Off Talented Applicants?


The Google Logo.

I was contacted by a Google recruiter the other day - and I turned them down without a second thought. Part of the reason is that I'm happy in my current role (hi boss!) - and another part is that last year Google deleted me. But perhaps the biggest reason is Google's awful reputation when […]

Continue reading →

Interesting Email Metadata


For many years, my email footer said "Sent via my Casio cPhone" - my attempt to poke fun at the users who hadn't updated their iPhone's default email signature. This leads to an interesting question: Is there an easy way to see what device an email is sent from? If I type the attached on […]

Continue reading →

Password Hashing In The Browser


A padlock engraved into a circuit board.

There are rarely new ideas in cryptography - and I doubt this idea is particularly innovative - but I thought it would be worth discussing. When I want to log in to a system on the web, I have to send that system my password. It is (one hopes) encrypted in transmission, but once it […]

Continue reading →

Talking SmartHome tech on Radio 2


A bunch of smartphone equipment on a radio broadcast desk.

After hearing my interview on Radio 4, the Jeremy Vine show asked me to talk about my smart home tech for Radio 2. We discuss controlling all the devices in your home with your mobile phone. #r2vine pic.twitter.com/O9hx7aTFpp — BBC Radio 2 (@BBCRadio2) November 17, 2016 But! There was a twist. Could I demo some […]

Continue reading →

Review: Chipolo Plus


Earlier this year, I reviewed the Chipolo Bluetooth Tracker. It's a small fob which you can attach to your keys & bag, stuff in a wallet, or slip in a pocket. Push a button on your phone and, if the Chipolo is within 60 metres, it starts beeping loudly. Six months is a long time […]

Continue reading →