Lies, damned lies, and political billboards


It is a truth universally acknowledged, that any photograph which doesn't fit your political viewpoint must have been photoshopped. A few weeks ago, as I was driving down the M40, I saw a giant "Vote Leave" poster with a fairly repulsive message on it. Saw a disgusting "Leave" billboard by the motorway saying "Halt ze […]

Continue reading →

Brexit Lies


At this point, I think it is a certainty that the UK will vote to leave the EU. The people who are anti-EU are passionate about their cause - every single one of them will be out to vote. For the rest of us, the EU doesn't occupy our every waking thought, we're happy to […]

Continue reading →

Easy APIs Without Authentication


A pet cat typing on a computer keyboard.

This is a curated list of APIs which do not require usernames, passwords, access tokens, signing, accept-headers, or anything more complicated than sticking a URL in a browser. (This is an update to my post from two years ago.) When I introduce people to the concept of using RESTful APIs, they immediately get how powerful […]

Continue reading →

Singing to my light bulbs


Screenshot. In one corner of my screen is a browser, one is a webcam view of me, one contains HTML output, one contains a debug console.

Because I'm an idiot, I've decided that what my life needs is voice activated lightbulbs. But voice control is so 2015. Let's make these bulbs react to SINGING! Here's a demo - fair warning, my vocal prowess is "limited". OK, here's how to do this. I recently got a bunch of Lfix bulbs as part […]

Continue reading →

Who is @GCHQ's "barneyrooster"?


The British intelligence service GCHQ has been on Twitter since January 2016 - however they only sent their first tweet today. Hello, world. https://t.co/SROtSsE8KB — GCHQ (@GCHQ) May 16, 2016 As I never tire of saying, Bitly is a terrible at keeping your data private. Simply add a + on to the URL and you […]

Continue reading →

Disclosed - Lifx Security Issue


I love my Lifx Bulbs. They're a quick and easy way to retrofit Internet connected goodies into a smart-home. One of the best things about them is their open API. Sure, you can use IFTTT if you want something easy - but us 1337 hax0rs want an API and Lifx provides it. The API is […]

Continue reading →

The Ubuntu Tablet - A Review of the Aquaris M10 Ubuntu Edition


I've been trying to find the perfect Linux laptop. I need something small, light, powerful, and with an ergonomic keyboard. Hmmm... Perhaps I don't need a laptop. I could use a tablet and my new Bluetooth keyboard... Enter BQ's Aquaris M10 Ubuntu Edition. It promises the Ubuntu experience in a convenient tablet package. I wanted […]

Continue reading →

The Great British Shake Off


Photo of Stephen Fry grimacing next to a carved statue of an eagle.

This weekend, I spotted that a person I know was running a Shakespeare themed GameJam - a sort of informal collection/competition arranged around a theme. The Shakespeare #BardJam ends midnight BST tonight, & works-in-progress are welcome. https://itch.io/jam/bard-jam #interactivefiction #textgame — Ash (@ggnewed) April 30, 2016 Given my previous experience developing Interactive Fiction, I figured I'd […]

Continue reading →