When GOVUK is NSFW


I don't particularly like picking on the security of Government websites. I do it a lot - but I always feel guilty about besmirching the good name of the many talented people who work in the Civil Service. Today's flaw, however, is a particularly basic mistake which simply shouldn't be allowed to happen by any […]

Continue reading →

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you lose


Robin Ince dressed as a clown.

I've just read an interesting article by M.G. Siegler entitled - "What you’re working on sucks, just give up now, they said." It can be summed up thus: Commentators said our startup wouldn't work. Our startup did, in fact, suceed. ∴ All commentators are wrong about whether startups will work. This exhibits one of my […]

Continue reading →

How To Style WordPress's Audio Player?


The Logo for WordPress.

WordPress has a built in media player. Chuck in an .MP3 or other sound file, and it will play directly in the browser. Nifty! The only problem is that is looks a bit... dull. (From Alex Fitch's Eola) It works, but it's not exactly what you'd call gorgeous, is it? Wouldn't it be nice if […]

Continue reading →

What's Your Christian Name?


I have a childhood memory of my father having a blazing row with a census-taker. It must have been around the 1991 census, the person collecting (or perhaps dropping off) the forms was determined to find out my father's name. "But you must have a Christian name!" He cried. "And I tell you that I […]

Continue reading →