Raspberry Pi Zero Hidden In An Xbox Controller


I like to tinker. My wife picked me up the new Raspberry Pi Zero. It's an ultra small and ridiculously cheap computer. How small and cheap? They give it away free on the cover of magazines... In related news, @summerbeth is the best wife of them all! #PiZero pic.twitter.com/utsF2m13jo — Terence Eden is on Mastodon […]

Continue reading →

Responsible Disclosure - XSS Flaw at LetsSaveMoney.com


Another day, another bug! LetsSaveMoney.com is a "money saving" site. It offers discounts on a wide range of products and services, and is financed through affiliate marketing. Links removed, because the site has disappeared. My Trade Union, Prospect, has just launched a white-labelled "Members' Rewards" based on LetsSaveMoney - that's how I came across this […]

Continue reading →

Locating Objects Around The House


It's always interesting to read over older Sci-Fi books and see what they got right about their future. I was re-reading Cory Doctorow's excellent "Makers" recently, when I came across this passage: Now the place was *spotless* -- and what's more, it was *minimalist*. The floor was not only clean, it was visible. Lining the […]

Continue reading →

Reverse Engineering the BMW i3 API


I'm really enjoying driving the BMW i3. I'd love to have it tweet its driving efficiency, or upload its location to my server, or let me turn on its air-conditioning when the temperature gets too warm - there are a hundred interesting things to do with the car's data. The official app has some of […]

Continue reading →

Wildcard Email Domains and New TLDs


Nominet has, after much prevaricating, launched its latest money grubbing venture plan to revolutionise the UK Internet industry. Rather than having fusty old example.co.uk or example.org.uk businesses can go straight for example.uk - Mind = BLOWN! There are, of course, some obvious downsides to this plan. It's always been the case that people could register […]

Continue reading →

YHDO Security Camera Review


The good folk at THZY-UK have sent me a gadget to review - the YHDO Security Camera with Night Vision. I'm comparing this to other cameras I've reviewed in the past - including Y-Cam and Sercomm models. The first thing to note is that this is one of the cheaper cameras on the market. At […]

Continue reading →

Would You Use Your Company's Product If You Weren't An Employee?


Some giant question marks standing in a field. Photo by https://www.flickr.com/photos/dbrekke/181939582/

One of the questions we frequently get asked at work is "would you recommend the company's products and services to your friends and family?" It's a question which I've been asked in just about every company I've joined - and it's getting increasingly harder for me to answer. Obviously, if you work in a B2B […]

Continue reading →

Why isn't your Intranet public facing?


A router with lots of fibre optic and ethernet cables plugged in.

In every company I've worked for, the Intranet has been where good ideas are sent to die. Outdated org charts, canteen menus which are updated sporadically, attempts to write an FAQ for the antiquated expenses system, and a maze of links dedicated to the Byzantine HR process. One thing I've never seen was information which […]

Continue reading →

SoundCloud Spammers On Twitter


Regular readers will know that I take a keen interest in Twitter spam. It seems the more popular a network gets, the greater the propensity for spam. A shame, but it seems to be the way of the world. Recently, one of my Tweets which mentioned SoundCloud was retweeted in rapid succession by a variety […]

Continue reading →

The MTV Problem With Product Managment


There's a meme which makes its way around the 'net whenever a popular service makes a significant change. I've seen this said about Reddit, imgur, Twitter, Facebook, Xbox, Spotify, FourSquare - and just about every other modern product. It imagines a Product Manager thoughtfully contemplating the future direction of their service. In the 1990s, I […]

Continue reading →