Running Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds on Linux


OMG! Good Old Games has the amazing Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds available for a mere £3.99. That was the game which introduced me & my wife to collaborative gameplay, so I was incredibly excited to see it available again. This is a brief guide to getting the game working on Linux - including multiplayer and […]

Continue reading →

Working With Twitter's Embedded Videos


Twitter has just launched embedded videos in Tweets. How can we, as app designers, present them to our users? https://twitter.com/twitter/status/560070183650213889 So, what options do we have? First of all, let's take a look at what the Twitter API provides. Send a signed request to : https://api.twitter.com/1.1/statuses/show/560070183650213889.json In return, we get these entities : "entities": { […]

Continue reading →

BlackBerry's "App Neutrality" isn't as crazy as it sounds


Photo of a BlackBerry torch. It has a touchscreen and slide out keyboard.

BlackBerry have drawn scorn from the technology world with their calls for Network Neutrality to apply to app developers. The CEO thinks that NetFlix - and others - should be forced to provide apps for BlackBerry's minority platform. Is he serious? It sounds like an insane and bureaucratic solution to BlackBerry's woes - but I'm […]

Continue reading →

How To Stop Twitter Auto Linking URLs


The Twitter logo.

Whenever you send a Tweet with a URL, Twitter automatically replaces the URL with a "t.co" link. This means that long links only count for 23 characters against Twitter's 140 character limit. Mostly, that's great - but sometimes it's not. Inspired by this StackOverflow question, I decided to see if it was possible to write […]

Continue reading →

Star Wars in Navajo


There's something poetic about watching a film you know intimately being performed in another language. Like many children of my generation, I don't remember a time before Star Wars. My birthday cakes were sloppy green Jabba The Hutts, my brother always got the "baddie" toys and I got the "goodies", every cardboard tube became a […]

Continue reading →

Writing A "Choose Your Own Adventure" Story On Twitter


I've spent the last few days writing a Choose Your Own Adventure (CYOA) game on Twitter. This blog post briefly discusses how I did it - and what pitfalls I discovered when creating it. But, first, if you want to play.... You should probably be asleep. I've created a "Choose You Own Adventure" on Twitter. […]

Continue reading →

New Year - New Dabr


Way back in 2008, David Carrington created Dabr - a really simple mobile website for accessing Twitter. Fact of the month: @dabr is now 5 years old! Born in August 2008 when @davidcarrington was inspired by @whatleydude. — Dabr (@dabr) September 16, 2013 In those days, Twitter had a kick-arse API and were happy for […]

Continue reading →

Why Does Twitter Think Facebook is Swedish?


I've nothing against the Swedes. Lovely people. Sweden is the third-largest country in the European Union by area. But I'm not from there. Neither, as far as I am aware, is Facebook. But Twitter seems to think so. When I share a link to Twitter on Facebook, this (sometimes) happens. And sometimes, I get this […]

Continue reading →