2013 - What a year!


Being a review of 2013, from my FourSquare check-in and blogging perspective 🙂 The year started off cold and snowy in Woking. I was busy teaching a Code Club in the local library. For our anniversary, Liz and I went on holiday to Las Vegas. The jetlag was unfortunately crippling, and the Beatles' Love show […]

Continue reading →

Graphing My Solar Panels (Open Source)


I've only had my solar panels for a few weeks, but I'm already trying to hook them up to the Internet of Things. I'm using the Fronius DataManager card. The API is fairly well documented - but you should be aware that it offers no authentication! The API is Read-Only - but I would still […]

Continue reading →

How Do You Pronounce Your Domain Name?


Glowing computer text showing dot com dot info etc.

I was listening to a podcast recently which was kind enough to mention one of my blog posts. The presenter said: ...and you should Google for this, because I'm really not sure how to pronounce this. Is it shu-huk-spur? dot mobby? Le sigh! It's a conversation I have most weeks when I'm on the phone […]

Continue reading →

Samsung's Bug Bounty


Earlier this year I found a security flaw in Samsung's handsets. Of course, I responsibly reported the flaw to them. It would have been nice if Samsung offered a Bug Bounty like so many other companies - but I was satisfied having helped save the world in my own small way. However, last week I […]

Continue reading →

Solar Panel Cyber Security


My friend Marc Rogers, the eminent security consultant, was quoted the Guardian talking about his predictions for information security and cybercrime in 2014. The ongoing development of the internet of things will continue to impact cyber security in 2014, as attackers now have more potential entry routes to sensitive governmental, corporate and personal data than […]

Continue reading →

FREE MONEY FROM THE SKY!


(With a little upfront investment). I've blogged before about our Solar Panels and how they're performing. Liz and I have recently moved house, and decided that it made sense to get panels on our new property. Basically, we're so capitalist that we can only enjoy the warm glow of Earth's yellow sun when it is […]

Continue reading →

Case Conflicts in Dropbox for Linux


Unix is user-friendly — it's just choosy about who its friends are.

I love Dropbox, I really do. It sits on my home PC, my laptop, my server, and my Android phones and tablets. Nothing comes close to it for seamlessly giving my machines access to the same set of files. It even runs on Linux - well... mostly. All my devices run Linux, from my Raspberry […]

Continue reading →

Rethinking Telephone Call Charges


A row of Abandoned Telephone Booths. They have all been removed, but the sign remains.

The UK telecoms regulator Ofcom is attempting to simplify the way consumers are charged for telephone calls. (Disclaimer: I work for a company which is regulated by Ofcom. This is my personal blog.) To deal with the multitude of different types of phone numbers - each with their own unique cost - and the rise […]

Continue reading →

ONS And Childfree Intentions


I've written before about the difference between a person being childless and being childfree. It is a simple matter of intention. Those who want children but don't have them are childless - whereas those with no desire to procreate are childfree. This is quite an important distinction - and yet it is almost completely absent […]

Continue reading →

Nelson Mandela says "Check Your Privilege"


Nelson Mandela giving a lecture.

During my commute home I like to listen to podcasts. The London School of Economics has a regular lecture series which it is gracious enough to record and podcast. The lectures are consistently interesting - although of inconsistent audio quality - and offer a fascinating glimpse into the minds of its speakers. Last night, the […]

Continue reading →