The Eye Of The Storm


I want to clear up a small misunderstanding Yesterday, I Tweeted: #PICONF12 Andy Smith says "never use your real details online" - Martin Hewitt not looking best pleased. Nor the other MP in the room. — Terence Eden is on Mastodon (@edent) October 25, 2012 In the space of a few hours, the story was […]

Continue reading →

Facebook's Mobile Adverts - Real Stats


Facebook has been getting a lot of criticism for its lack of mobile revenue. A fact it tried to hide from its IPO. Much ink has been spilled, but is it really necessary for Facebook to worry? Here's a quick case study. Facebook has, in its infinite wisdom, decided that I would be interested in […]

Continue reading →

Ada Lovelace Day 2012


Posthumous painting of Anning by B. J. Donne from 1847, based on the 1842 portrait, showing her pointing at an ammonite.

Last night, I attended Ada Lovelave Day Live. An inspirational and entertaining evening celebrating women in technology. One of the ways that people can get involved in Ada Lovelace day is be blogging about women in tech - I blogged in 2009 and 2010 but - to my shame - I didn't in 2011. So, […]

Continue reading →

Browser Statistics for UK Government Websites


Royal coat of arms of the UK. A lion and a unicorn.

One of the great things about publicly blogging for the last 5 years, is that I can remind myself of what I was doing this time last year. Or several years ago. The Terence Eden of October 2009 was a busy chap! 22 blog posts! What a guy 🙂 One post which caught my eye […]

Continue reading →

No One Scans QR Codes (apart from the thousands of people who do)


I love QR codes. I'm unashamed about that. I've helped business and charities use them effectively. I think QR codes are doing pretty well thank-you-very-much. Yet, for some reason, those little black and white squares are really divisive. Some people seem to hate them with an irrational and burning passion. Perhaps it's because QR codes […]

Continue reading →

Fresh Wasabi In The UK


tl;dr Buy fresh wasabi in the UK. It's amazing Fresh Wasabi? In The UK When I was at university, I moved into a shared student home with Liz (spoiler she became my wife several years later!). Liz was, and still is, quite the cook. However, her range of culinary equipment dumbfounded our house-mates. I once […]

Continue reading →