Does Facebook Think My Marriage Is In Trouble?


Facebook has a funny idea of society.  From telling you to reconnect with dead friends, to offering your partner up as a "single" in your area - Facebook has a habit of getting things wrong. My partner and I, like many married couples, live together.  We speak over breakfast, commute together and send each other […]

Continue reading →

ORG Election


Voting is now open for the Open Rights Group Board of Directors election. I'd be delighted to answer any questions you may have. Post them as a comment here, send me an SMS or an email and I'll do my best to answer. A quick look over the candidate statements shows that we're all fairly […]

Continue reading →

Dabr Widget for 360 H1


The Vodafone 360 phone.

I've written a very basic JIL widget to launch dabr.  You can grab it from https://shkspr.mobi/Dabr.wgt I've tested this to work on the Vodafone 360 H1 - but it should work with any JIL handset. Because it isn't certified, you may need to dial *#35767# to remove the H1's security check. The code is very […]

Continue reading →

Redefining The Book


A Kindle hidden in a hollowed out paper book.

Jasper Fforde releases upgrade patches for his books. If he has made an error of fact, created a plot hole or missspelt a word - you can download an upgrade for your book.  How cool is that? He also has a "cut scenes" repository where you can see the chapters which were cruelly cut by […]

Continue reading →

Waterstones Elonex 511EB Review - Part 2


I've been blown away by the number of comments and visits to my original review of the 511EB. To clarify some of the points and answer some questions, I've decided to post another video review. This shows the speed of page turning and some of the idiosyncrasies of the eReader. Run VT, Errol! Startup Screen […]

Continue reading →

Open Rights Group - Standing For the Board of Directors


Badge proclaiming that I started the Open Rights Group and am Founder 615.

As you may know, I'm a supporter of the Open Rights Group. They're the campaigning group dedicated to protecting our online civil liberties. I pay them £5 per month, I think you should join them too. I'm not just putting my money where my mouth is. I'm also standing for the Board of Directors. I […]

Continue reading →