Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 8 at 10:03 comment added Crazymoomin Reform UK seems to have a knack for appealing to depressed seaside towns. 4 out of the 5 constituencies they won (Clacton, Great Yarmouth, Boston and Skegness, South Basildon and East Thurrock) are coastal with at least one depressed seaside town.
Jul 6 at 19:42 comment added FumbleFingers @F1Krazy: Well, I can't remember where I got the idea he lived in Clacton (I sometimes watch GB News, where both the name and the man himself appear regularly). But given the number of nutters who I'm sure Farage has police protection against, and the fact that the Express piece says where Farage reportedly has a family home, I don't necessarily assume I was mistaken. And I do believe Farage's own assertion that until very recently, he was not planning / expecting to take up arms against yet another sea of troubles!
Jul 6 at 19:26 comment added F1Krazy @FumbleFingers "Googling "when did nigel farage move to clacton" gets nothing relevant for me" - That might be because, from what I can find, he doesn't actually live in Clacton after all - he lives in the village of Downe in Greater London, a 90-minute drive away.
Jul 6 at 19:20 comment added FumbleFingers @F1Krazy: I was kinda hoping someone could research it better than me. Googling "when did nigel farage move to clacton" gets nothing relevant for me! But I'm fairly sure whenever he did move there, he wasn't expecting to stand for Clacton in this election.
Jul 6 at 19:16 comment added F1Krazy @FumbleFingers "Because he lives there" would be a pretty convincing answer if you're willing to post it as one.
Jul 6 at 19:03 comment added FumbleFingers Farage was brought up in Kent, and I'm pretty sure he'd been living in Clacton long before his very recent decision to come "out of retirement", take over leadreship of Reform, and stand for election again. So I think this question is a bit weaselly.
Jul 6 at 18:04 comment added Michael Harvey @Valorum - I believe the constituency includes Jaywick, which has achieved a certain notoriety as a kind of 'chav hell'.
Jul 6 at 7:45 comment added Valorum I've been to Clacton and even before the election, there was a great deal of sympathy for the kind of anti-immigration policies being pushed by Reform.
Jul 6 at 0:16 history became hot network question
Jul 5 at 18:03 vote accept TheSimpliFire
Jul 5 at 17:18 answer added kaya3 timeline score: 20
Jul 5 at 16:15 history asked TheSimpliFire CC BY-SA 4.0