Unconference

I’ve been in Düsseldorf since Friday evening, but not for Beyond Tellerand. I was in Leeds at the beginning of May, but not for All Day Hey. Being in the same city as a conference, yet not in attendance, is a running theme.

At border:none in Nuremberg last year, I spent most of the second day exploring the railway museum. When I attended Beyond Tellerand in Berlin in 2017, I ducked out to visit the DDR Museum.

I don’t enjoy conferences, and I think I’ve finally reached a point of acceptance where I stop buying tickets in the hope that I will.

What is it about conferences that agitates me?

Maybe I don’t like listening to other people! I certainly find myself becoming overly critical, mentally marking the content of a talk against my own ideas and value system (such that it is), grumbling under my breath whenever I don’t agree with something.

I also know that for a presentation to be engaging and effective, nuance can give way to oversimplification and exaggeration. Should a speaker start lecturing an audience – and a few do – I can barely contain my annoyance.

And I really don’t like being around large groups of people.

But! If I’m speaking at a conference, my attitude changes. It’s like a cheat code for my brain, forcing me to become more open and engaging. Of course, this could all be a matter of ego, preferring the sound of my own voice1 and enjoying being the center of attention.

Oh dear.

Thing is, I’ve always enjoyed my own company. I also learn by doing, which is the complete opposite of what many conferences offer.

While it’s tempting to adopt a no conference policy, to lean into the more unsociable and introverted parts of my personality, this isn’t the way to live a healthy and fulfilling life.

Perhaps the answer lies in the unconference; smaller events with the option to present on a topic without it being a big pressured thing. That includes events like IndieWebCamp – the excuse I used to visit Düsseldorf. It has a format that involves active participation and provides a more creative and collaborative space.

I almost proposed a talk for this year’s UX Camp Brighton, perhaps I should commit to attending next year’s event.


Footnotes

  1. I don’t. Nobody does. ↩︎

Categories