My ActivityPub settings


On the Settings page, under Profiles, I have a blog profile enabled, with an ID of @nick. This has always been and will always be a single author blog, so I make sure my fediverse handle is personal.

Under Activities, I use a custom structure for all my fediverse posts. I use the title of a post (my notes and likes all have titles, too), an excerpt, a shortlink (I use the Hum plugin with the domain nicks.im), and any WordPress tags are rendered as hashtags. The Activity Pub plugin helpfully converts multiple word tags into #CamelCase tags.

I only allow one media attachment (the first one) per fediverse version. I leave the Activity-Object-Type set to ‘Note’ since Mastodon seems to be the biggest fedi platform right now, and the other options just seem…unpredictable?

I have multiple post types in WordPress, but I only federate Posts, Notes, and Likes. Notes and Likes are both post types from Jan Boddez’s IndieBlocks plugin. I’m also using hashtags in my content. So #WordPress will be linked to all my other posts tagged “WordPress”.

Haven’t had to modify anything in the Server or Blocklist settings yet.

That’s it! Hope this is helpful.

Likes, Bookmarks, and Reposts

  • Mike Haynes

One response

  1. starrwulfe Avatar

    OK, made some adjustments to my ActivityPub Plugin settings thanks to Nick Simson, and now we’re testing again…

Leave a Reply