Skip to content

Sonic Team boss would love to make a Sonic RPG

Good Vibes Gaming recently got to interview the head of Sonic Team, Takashi Iizuka, and asked him about the chances of a Sonic the Hedgehog role playing game. We have had Sonic Chronicles: The Dark Brotherhood on the Nintendo DS system, but that wasn’t developed by Sonic Team, as it was a BioWare project. Iizuka says it’s a project he would love to pursue and hopefully work on before he retires from SEGA. However, he did state that there are no concrete plans for a Sonic RPG. Here’s what he said:

“PERSONALLY I REALLY LIKE ROLE-PLAYING GAMES THE RPG GAME FORMAT IS A LOT OF FUN AND I’VE EVEN THOUGHT TO MYSELF “YOU KNOW FOR THE PAST 30 YEARS WE HAVEN’T DONE A SONIC RPG” AND I’M QUESTIONING MYSELF “WHY HAVEN’T WE DONE A SONIC RPG IN ALL THIS TIME? HOW-HAVE WE GOTTEN TO 30 YEARS WITH NO RPGS?!” SO I’D LIKE TO HOPEFULLY WORK ON A SONIC RPG AT SOME POINT BEFORE I RETIRE FROM SEGA, BUT YOU KNOW, THAT’S JUST A DREAM RIGHT NOW… THERE ARE NO CONCRETE PLANS AT THIS POINT.”

19 thoughts on “Sonic Team boss would love to make a Sonic RPG”

  1. Sonic Chronicles has been forgotten 😔

    I feel like I was the only one that played that back when I was a kid

    1. Iizuka said he wanted to make one himself. Sonic Chronicles was outsourced, and it cant be rereleased because there’s loads of legal issues with it

      1. Actually, there’s no legal issues with it at all. Ken Penders has tried to sue both SEGA & BioWare and failed MULTIPLE TIMES.

        1. Just stay away from echidnas (who aren’t Knuckles and Tikal), and anything resembling the “Twilight Cage”.

      2. Honestly, I don’t think anyone would miss out if it never saw the light of day again. It’s the worst RPG I’ve ever played, and there’s very few RPGs that I dislike.

  2. “Sonic Team boss would love to make a Sonic RPG” let me guess, without Sally Acorn? Inb4 that laughingstock with the money icon that resorts to mods harasses me.

    1. Remind me, do you want Sally Acorn back or do you want her to stay away from the canon? There’s so much discourse online about the Freedom Fighters that I can’t remember who’s a fan and who isn’t at this point, and I’m not going to look at every MNN article about Sonic in the hopes of finding out what you like and/or don’t.

    2. Sally is not a game character and SEGA buried her after Archie Sonic died. Let her rest in peace.

      Besides, Modern Sonic is just trash now.

  3. Why do we report on every time Sega takes a sh**? Last time I checked this is “Nintendo News”, not Sega News.

    1. MNN has been posting about third parties that put games on Nintendo consoles for years now. This isn’t anything new, and it’s nice to see MNN post things that are relevant to the Nintendo Switch

  4. Blah blah blah, Popful Mail, blah blah blah, Bioware/Ken Penders, blah blah blah, turn-based strategy, blah blah blah, “Gotta go FAST”!

Leave a Reply

Discover more from My Nintendo News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading