Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 6 at 17:36 comment added wizzwizz4 @Fattie You're missing a bucket: (D) duty calls. (A distinct motivation from (A), I think.)
Jul 5 at 13:22 comment added Fattie I have always guessed that the motivation to write answers comes in three buckets. (A) call it for shorthand altruism, perhaps as you describe ("the desire to see the library existing"). (B) for perhaps junior programmers and such, the desire to have a folio as it were of SO answers, demonstrating their skill, and (C) the perhaps "cynical" or "pragmatic" mechanism, to get "your questions answered" you have to be a contributor on the answer side. Jus thought I would ramble about this, as you have clearly thought through the issue a lot. Cheers!
Jul 5 at 13:20 comment added Fattie or me, the sole reason I (put so much time) in to providing answers, is, I'd say one is less likely "to get help on" said difficult questions, unless, one is contributing answers. Thus for example, I think (and have often said!) I'd be more than happy to just pay money if that could make one a fraternal user who can get questions answered, than, put time in to crafting fine answers so as to achieve that end. (Indeed, on a number of occasions over the yrs my company has indeed just hired as a contractor, arcane experts found on here - which is I guess the end game of that cynical position.)
Jul 5 at 13:16 comment added Fattie Gotchya now, WW. I've often thought about this issue. On reflection I realized, "the reason I am here" in my case: I need answers to obscure (we'll come back to that) questions in the programming fields I happen to be working on that month. In field X, there will be say 5, sometimes 6 or 7, users who have extremely detailed, up-to-the-minute knowledge of the API or field in question. Essentially, I basically "need" the input of said 5-7 people to make money. Why then do I post answers? if I'm not mistaken for you the answer is "you want such a library to exist, you want to curate it". F
Jul 5 at 12:01 comment added wizzwizz4 @Fattie The main purpose of the Stack Exchange network, and the reason I'm here, is to curate a large, easily-referenceable database of answers. Questions are there to prompt the writing of answers, help organise them for later reference, and provide a hook for search queries (see Optimizing For Pearls, Not Sand). Duplicates are there for the same reason. This collection of information, freely available to everyone who wants to reference it, closely resembles a library. I think it is one.
Jul 5 at 10:56 comment added Fattie A fascinating post. What is meant by "the library" in this context? ty
Jul 4 at 19:28 history edited wizzwizz4 CC BY-SA 4.0
When picking a random number, remember: 6 is the most random digit, followed by 9, followed by 8.
Jul 4 at 18:49 history edited wizzwizz4 CC BY-SA 4.0
MathOverflow has an unusual choice of axioms.
Jul 4 at 18:43 history edited wizzwizz4 CC BY-SA 4.0
Long sentences can be hard to parse. This problem can be improved by adding more words.
Jul 4 at 18:34 history answered wizzwizz4 CC BY-SA 4.0