Time Travel

Published on under the Moments of Joy category.

I would contest that we have already invented time travel. In fact, I think we have invented it twice. The first is through air travel, which enables you to wake up in one country and go to sleep in a country across the globe on the same day. The second is through the combination of photography and memory, which takes us back to a moment and allows us to see something resembling the memory in our head; a place. A time.

I picked up Edward Heathcote’s “On the Street” book from my bookshelf today, during a time in which there was nothing in particular to do and the book caught my eye. I have not read the book, but I knew the book had pictures. I flicked through the novel, as one does when they are bored, and one particular photo made me stop and think. A photo of Manhatthan Bridge, in New York, taken from the famous location in DUMBO that has been featured in many an Instagram picture.

Almost immediately, I said to myself “I have stood there, where that photo was taken.” I was there recently. As I write, I find myself thinking about the scale and grandeur of the bridge. One must look up to see it. A friend was with me; we took pictures of the bridge.

From across the ocean, and across time, this photo brought back a moment. A moment for me to experience again.

We can all travel in time. Isn’t that exciting?

Go Back to the Top