Build a website in an hour event

Published on under the IndieWeb category.

I will be hosting a “Build a website in an hour” event on July 29th at 5pm UK time (9am PT). Here is the event description:

Join us for a challenge to build a website in an hour!

When we open the Zoom room, we will do a brief round of introductions and then get to work on building a website. You should come prepared with an idea so you can get started after the introductions!

You can build a website on any topic you want. Start that blog you have wanted to write? Make a fan page for your favourite band? Make a game with JavaScript? Create a landing page for something you are passionate about? Let your creativity run wild! You can make something fun or serious.

You must create the website in the hour during the event.

At the end of the event, we will share what we have made!

The event only lasts an hour, which I think will be an interesting constraint! This limit was intentional: we’ll all be in the same boat, trying to bring our ideas to fruition together in a limited period of time.

I am excited to see what people make in this event! I am going to use this as an opportunity to get outside my comfort zone and try something new. I might build a visually stimulating leaderboard web component that I can use across different projects. I would love to have a landing page that uses new CSS that I haven’t used before, too! I sure would love to figure out how to do wavy patterns on web pages.

If you need help brainstorming ideas, email me at readers [at] jamesg [dot] blog and we can chat! Come prepared to the meetup with an idea so you cn spend more time working on your website.

Also posted on IndieNews

Go Back to the Top