Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags
A jam submission

CardfullyView game page

A mix between a card game and a platformer 🔥
Submitted by Elastiskalinjen (@Elastiskalinjen) — 2 days, 9 hours before the deadline
Add to collection

Play game

Cardfully's itch.io page

Results

CriteriaRankScore*Raw Score
Creativity + Theme#44.2114.211
Visuals#94.1584.158
Music + SFX#183.3683.368
Gameplay#183.4213.421
Fun Factor#253.2633.263

Ranked from 19 ratings. Score is adjusted from raw score by the median number of ratings per game in the jam.

Leave a comment

Log in with itch.io to leave a comment.

Comments

Submitted

I really love everything about the game, the art, sound, vibe, and mechanics. But there were a lot of moments where all of the cards did not line up right, which would have been fine probably as "luck of the draw", but there were also moments where the little guy seemed to walk further than expected, which made it frustrating to have to go through some turns of bad draws again. Maybe with some balance, it could be better, or maybe a little story that makes failure easier to stomach could be nice.

Submitted

the design on this was awesome and all the visuals were so nice and cohesive, unlike what the description and others said i didn’t find it very difficult, it was just right for me

Submitted(+1)

What a great-looking pico-8 game! As a novice pico developer myself, I don't feel qualified to critique the graphics, but there are a lot of impressive effects in here that look fantastic.

You weren't kidding about the difficulty. I definitely appreciate the challenge and was totally hooked for quite a while! I do wish that there were a few quality-of-life improvements: the ability to peek forward at upcoming terrain, and a togglable "grid" so I can see exactly how far away my character is from a given ledge or jump. It was a little frustrating to have to memorize the sequence of moves to get to an offscreen checkpoint since you can't actually see the screen where you previously died while planning your next move.

I do really like a lot of the game decisions you made here - forcing the player to play all four of a random card set (with one permitted reshuffle) created a lot of delicious, organic puzzles that aren't easily brute-forced by trial and error.

I have no complaints about the UI - and it's impressive that you created such an unintrusive series of menus and icons that are intuitive to the player without a lot of aggressive tutorials or onscreen text.

Submitted(+1)

Really fun and creative idea, mixing movement in with cards! There were a couple interactions I was expecting to work differently though, namely if I input one direction, then a jump, then that same direction, it'd stack those directions together then do the jump, instead of doing one movement, jump, then movement again. Overall though, really cool idea, love what you did with this!

Developer

Thanks! The thing you describing is possible though by playing the movement card first 😊

Submitted(+1)

ngl, this was REAL hard! i really liked the visuals and sounds, but daamn you really need to think before every move you do so that you get to the right platform. but honestly really cool idea, well done!

Submitted(+1)

Wow, you weren’t kidding when you said it was tough! :-D

It’s a lot of fun, though I sometimes wasn’t sure how to combine the moves in the right way. At first I struggled to figure out how far left and right would move me. But once I’d played for a while and it started to click I think I got quite far!

Developer

Thanks, yeah, some suggestions would make sense, like seeing how far an individual card would take you, not the whole sequence!

Submitted

I LOVE HOW CREATIVE YOU GOT IN THIS! but i have stuff to say...


when i played a right card. i assumed he would move right until either falling or the next card event played. i found it interesting that you wrapped movement for a platformer into a card game. this is definetly fitting the theme! gave you high ranking in that for sure! but i found it frustrating, when i kept hitting shuffle to get the right combination of cards so i can simple jump over a platformer. that took me out of the game honestly. you have something very Unique and creative on your hands! thank you for that great game

Developer(+1)

Thanks! With some tweaks I could probably make it a bit less cumbersome, but I am not so sure the genres fit together so good more than a one off game jam 😅

Submitted(+1)

Really interesting game with very unique mechanics. It's a tough one

Submitted(+1)

I like the card strength modifier a lot. It’s a small thing but brings a whole lot of nuance to the movement.

Developer

Thanks! That's my favorite part of the whole game, makes it more of a puzzle platformer. With set values on the cards it was just too random, even with a shuffle.

Submitted (1 edit) (+1)

this is fun! it took a second for me to get into, it was hard to gauge how far i would walk or how high i would jump. but once i started to get the hang of it the puzzles were really satisfying. maybe if you showed where each card would take you on its own rather than the final destination of all the cards, it would be a little more intuitive without taking away from the puzzle aspect.

Developer

I really like that idea! 😊 If I would ever continue, that would be the first thing to implement!

Submitted(+1)

Wow! The fluid animations and semi-abstract backgrounds look amazing! Though when I played, I really wished that you could see approximately how far a card would move you so its easier to plan. Most of my deaths were because I didn't know if I needed to use a "2" or a "3", and that becomes a bit frustrating after a while. But other than that, this is a great game! And again, the visuals are top notch!

Developer (1 edit) (+1)

Thanks! 😊 I somewhat agree on seeing where you end up  would be cool and less frustrating, but it also removes some of the "puzzle" part of it, like trying to figure out the right distance card. Yes, some parts will be a bit trial and error without it, but after a while you know how far a two value card is. 

Developer(+1)

Maybe it could be a bit vague, but then you would be in the same position as you were before 😬, not knowing exactly what card to use.